Syndicate contentLocal Sports

Highland’s best athletes receive banquet awards

May 19, 2014

The top Highland High School athletes in several sports were recognized at the school’s end-of-the-year banquet held recently.
Michael Hyde was the re-cipient of three honors, as he was presented with the Hornet football and boys track and field awards as well as receiving a Fighting Hornet Award.
Others honored at the banquet as their sport’s top athletes were Madison Moseley in cross country; Sierra Allen in girls basketball; Beth Richburg and Hannah Allen in girls track and field; and Ethan Wilson in boys basketball.

SW, area sports camp schedules

May 19, 2014

A Mustang Baseball Camp will be held June 2-5 at Sportsman’s Park (high school baseball field).

All-district Mustangs

May 13, 2014

Sweetwater has the over-all MVP and the top new-comer — along with six first-team selections — on the All-District 4-3A base-ball team.
Greg Aiken, a senior and a four-year starter for Sweetwater at first base, got the highest honor by being named MVP. He led the team in batting (.442), hits (34), doubles (12), triples (4), RBI (34), and slugging (.740) while also hitting the Mustangs’ only home run.
Aiken, a four-time all-district performer, also made just two errors at first base in 195 chances. Last year, he was named District 4-3A’s defensive MVP.

Playoffs come to Sportsman’s Park

May 12, 2014

Shown, Quentin Wetsel waits for a chance to score from third base.
Find more photos on Monday's Sports page.

What a haul

May 12, 2014

AUSTIN — All four relay teams from Nolan County — three from Roscoe and one from Highland — had medal-winning efforts on Saturday at the Region II-1A, Division II state track meet.
Yet that magnificent feat had to share the headline with other great accomplishments that were turned in this weekend by local athletes in Austin.
It was, quite simply, an embarrassment of riches as no fewer than 14 area track athletes won medals in just seven events.

Pirates rally past SW in 6th inning to win Game 1

May 12, 2014

WOODROW — Sweetwa-ter successfully fought back from a 4-0 deficit after two innings to take a 6-4 lead over host Lubbock Cooper after 5 1/2 innings Friday.
It was the same formula the Mustangs used to knock off Pecos a week earlier in bi-district, and they needed just six outs to get another win. This time, however, they couldn’t pull it off.
Instead, Cooper rallied for three sixth-inning runs and a 7-6 win in Game 1 of the teams’ best-of-3 area playoff series that resumed at Sweetwater on Saturday, with the Mustangs (20-10) needing a pair of victories to keep their season alive.

SHS players are honored at combine

May 12, 2014

Sweetwater High School had three football players receive top honors recently at a Step It Up combine in Abilene for players in grades 8-12 who are look-ing for college exposure. A total of 13 football players from SHS attended. Among the events at the combine were 40-yard dash, power toss, fastest man competi-tion and offensive line and defensive line challenges.
The honored players were Bray Amos - Overall MVP, Kaegan Jeffrey - MVP quarterback and Isaiah McGee - Defensive MVP.

Volleyball camps set

May 12, 2014

Two All-American Vol-leyball Camps will be held in Sweetwater in June.
A camp for students entering grades 6-8 will be held June 16-17 from 3:45-5:45 p.m. both days at the Sweetwater Middle School gym. The cost is $55 per player and due by Thursday, May 15. Please send registration forms and full payment to Reneigh Meneses, P.O. Box 862, Sweetwater, TX 79556. Persons may call her at (325) 338-8606. Make checks payable to Sweetwater Summer VB.

Several Roscoe athletes honored at recent banquet

May 12, 2014

These Roscoe Collegiate High School athletes were given top honors on May 2 at a banquet held in the school cafetorium.
Plowgirls of the Year — Eva Aguayo, basketball; Eva Aguayo, Sunshine Tala-mantez, Whitney Williams and Lyndi Wilkinson, track; Alejandra Solis, cross country; Ashley Lara, powerlift-ing.
Plowboys of the Year — Shelton Toliver, football; Jesus Leanos, basketball and track; Braiden Moore, cross country; Ray Bohall, powerlifting.
Charles and Verla Ratliff Spirit Award — Whitney Williams.
Clyde Jay Memorial Scholarships — Eva Aguayo and Jesus Leanos.

Roscoe hoop camps slated

May 12, 2014

Roscoe will have four basketball camps in June.
Camps for girls and boys entering grades 6-9 next year will be held June 2-4 from 6-9 p.m. at the high school and junior high gyms. Registration is at the door and the cost is $30.
Camps for girls and boys entering grades 1-5 next year will be held June 16-18 from 6-8 p.m. at the high school and junior high gyms. Registration is at the door and the cost is $25.
Both camps will include games, fundamental skills, awards and a T-shirt. For questions, interested persons should contact coach Kelly Jo Sexton at

The ALS Ice Bucket Challenge has raised nearly $80 million over the last month. These viral videos...
TODAY Tennis Sweetwater varsity plays Monahans (season opener) at Midland’s Bush Tennis Center, 4 p...
A pair of Sweetwater High School football players are on the All-Big Country preseason Super Team...


Premium Drupal Themes by Adaptivethemes