All-district Mustangs

Sweetwater has the over-all MVP and the top new-comer — along with six first-team selections — on the All-District 4-3A base-ball team.Greg Aiken, a senior and a four-year starter for Sweetwater at first base, got the highest honor by being named MVP. He led the team in batting (.442), hits (34), doubles (12), triples (4), RBI (34), and slugging (.740) while also hitting the Mustangs’ only home run.Aiken, a four-time all-district performer, also made just two errors at first base in 195 chances. Last year, he was named District 4-3A’s defensive MVP.Mustang sophomore Tyler Beasley, a move-in who took over at third base, is District 4-3A’s newcomer of the year. Beasley hit .316 with 14 RBI. He was third on the team in hits (31) and second in doubles (7).Junior J.P. Poe — chosen top district newcomer in 2013 — was named to the first team at pitcher. Also making the first team were seniors Stephen May and Kaleb Hoover in the outfield, seniors James Clift and Dylan Bennett as infielders and junior Hayden Reeves at catcher.Poe finished with a 7-3 record and led the team in wins and ERA (1.15) with 54 strikeouts in 60.2 innings. Clift, who was an all-dist-rict pitcher for the past two years, hit .305 and was sec-ond on the team with 23 RBI. May was the team’s second-leading hitting with a .375 average, while Reeves hit .309, Bennett .287 and Hoover .284. Bennett had team-high 29 runs scored.