All-district Plowboys

December 17, 2012

Vincent Pantoja (shown) is co-defensive newcomer; 4 on first team

Roscoe landed four of its players on the all-District 7-A, Division II first team that was released this past week, while several other players also earned district recognition.
One of the district’s top honors went to Roscoe freshman Vincent Pantoja, who shared the district’s defensive newcomer of the year honor with Hamlin’s Marcos Rojas.
Roscoe’s four District 7-A, Division II first team selections were defensive lineman Landon Jones, cornerback Brant Burnett, utility player Chris Deleon and receiver Shelton Toliver. Deleon, Burnett and Jones are seniors while Toliver is a junior.
Six Plowboys made the second team — running back Eduardo Gallegos, receivers Jesus Leanos and Esteban Benivamondez (Leanos was also named to the second team on defense as a cornerback), defensive lineman Joe Luis Aguayo, defensive end Jose Rangel and safety Kevin Lavalais. Gallegos, Rangel and Agua-yo are seniors, Leanos and Benivamondez juniors and Lavalais only a freshman.
Junior Rafael Pantoja and sophomore Domonic Pantoja each received all-district honorable mention for Roscoe on the defensive line as did freshman Anthony Ortegon. Also getting all-district honorable mention were junior receiver Zack Longoria, senior offensive linemen Alex Rhoades and Brenon Moore, junior safety Luke Rovig, sophomore offensive lineman Chase Cathey and sophomore quarterback Matthew Davila.

View more articles in:
COLLEGE STATION — Sweetwater went 2-1 Thursday, beating Cuero and Boerne in pool play at the Texas...
Several Sweetwater High School football players will be spending Thursday and Friday in College...
James Clift, a 2014 grad-uate of Sweetwater High School and former SHS athlete, has been named by...


Premium Drupal Themes by Adaptivethemes