Carson Studio hosts Spring awards recital/student awards

Music students of Noreen Carson presented their annual Spring Awards Recital on June 1, the First Baptist Church sanctuary. Performances by piano and guitar students were followed by the presentation of awards in recognition of their accomplishments throughout the 2013-2014 school year. Students participating in the National Piano Guild Auditions held at Hardin Simmons University in May were acknowledged for the number of memorized repertoire pieces and musicianship phases that they had prepared. The bronze medal (five selections) was awarded to Hunter Heady, the silver medal (seven selections) to Kylie Reyes and Allison Marlett and the gold medal (10 selections) to Jamieson Bowers, Tatum Heady, Cash Miles, Paytin Pinder, Jaden Doggett, Trinity McGee, Zain Jackson, Grayson Eaker, Bethanee Rodriguez, Reese Kiser, Kimberly Martinez and Caleb Boren. International gold medals were received by four students who memorized and prepared 15 selections — Jaden Rule, Jackson Bowers, Caleb Reed and Sydni Jackson. Award pins were given to Garrison Eaker for five years of participation in the Guild Auditions at the National level, Devin Gutierrez for six years, Hannah Vermilion for seven years and Natalie Barela for eight years.Certificates were presented to Jackson Bowers, Kimberly Martinez, Kylie Reyes, Hayden Wehba, Taiden Smith and Camden Boren for their participation in the Texas Music Teachers Association’s Theory Testing. Bronze medals for the TMTA Theory testing were received by Trinity McGee and Isabella Alden, silver medals by Jamieson Bowers, Hunter Heady, Sydni Jackson and Caleb Reed and gold medals by Cash Miles, Paytin Pinder, Jaden Doggett, Jayden Rule, Kason Wehba, Ryan Alvarez, Grayson Eaker, Zain Jackson, Bethanee Rodriguez, Reese Kiser, Garrison Eaker, Kyrsten Smith, Isabella Petty, Hannah Vermillion, Natalie Barela and Devin Gutierrez. Division certificates for earning medals all three years in their division were awarded to Kyrsten Smith and Isabella Alden. Hannah Vermillion, Natalie Barela and Jaden Doggett were acknowledged for their participation in the TMTA World of Music Testing with Jaden receiving a gold medal.At the local level, Natalie Barela garnered second place and Hannah Vermillion an Honorable Mention in the AMTA Local Performance Contest, Grade 7-8, that was held at HSU in April. Natalie, Hannah and Reese Kiser received Superior ratings for their participation in the AMTA Springer-Manly Music Festival. The following students were selected for the AMTA Student Affiliate ensembles that performed in June at the Abilene Civic Center and the TMTA Convention held in Houston; they received awards from AMTA for the number of years they have participated on TMTA state ensembles. Reese Kiser (2), Kimberly Martinez (1) and Kylie Reyes (1) participated on the TX-American I piano ensemble, “Bouncin’ Boogie”; Isabella Alden (3), Kyrsten Smith (4) and Hannah Vermillion (5) participated on the TX-American II piano ensemble along with Kyrsten, Camden Boren (1) and Taiden Smith (1) performing on guitar for “Spanish Tornado” that was directed by Noreen Carson; and Natalie Barela (6) participated with the High School ensemble performing “Stars and Stripes Forever”. The MP Award, a Carson Studio award for accomplishing musicianship phase goals, was awarded to students in the elementary level — Tatum Heady, Jamieson Bowers, Cash Miles, Jayden Rule, Kason Wehba, Jaden Doggett, Jackson Bowers, Kimberly Martinez, Kylie Reyes, Ryan Alvarez, Grayson Eaker, Hunter Heady, Zain Jackson, Reese Kiser, Trinity McGee, Bethanee Rodriguez, Katie Reed, Caleb Reed and in the intermediate level — Garrison Eaker, Natalie Barela, Mickenzie Brownlow and Caroline Lawrence. Devin Gutierrez received a certificate acknowledging five and a half years of music braille study. Gold Star Certificates for compiling at least 100 practice times throughout the year were awarded to Grayson Eaker, Hayden Wehba, Jamieson Bowers, Kason Wehba, Jackson Bowers, Tatum Heady, Hunter Heady, Katie Reed, Sydni Jackson, Zain Jackson, Caleb Reed and Kylie Reyes. Top Gold Star Awards were given to Jaden Doggett (third), Kimberly Martinez (second), and Reese Kiser (first) in the elementary level. Compiling the most practice times in the Intermediate Level were Camden Boren (third), Hannah Vermillion (second) and Natalie Barela (first). Graduating senior, Caroline Lawrence was recognized for 10 years of piano study.