Chamber sponsors new teachers luncheon

August 27, 2012

New area teachers were honored at the New Teacher Luncheon held on Friday afternoon; the event was sponsored by the Sweetwater Chamber of Commerce (shown)

The New Teachers Luncheon was held on Friday, August 24, 2012 in the Center Seminar Room at the Sweetwater campus of TSTC (Texas State Technical College) West Texas.
The event was hosted by the Sweetwater Chamber of Commerce.
Executive Vice President of the Chamber, Jacque McCoy, welcomed the new teachers and their corporate sponsors, thanking the teachers for their work with the children of the school districts.
McCoy also introduced her staff members at the Chamber, Mary Reeves and Tina Browning, and thanked them for their work in putting together the luau-themed event. Gil Cherry, the president-elect of the Chamber Board, offered opening remarks echoing McCoy's sentiment, expressing his admiration and respect for the teachers.
Duane Hyde, the superintendent of Highland ISD (Independent School District), gave the invocation, followed by the Pledge of Allegiance led by the Sweetwater ISD superintendent, Terry Pittman.
Thirty-eight new teachers, coaches and administration from the two respective districts--along with the local branch of TSTC (Texas State Technical College)--were then introduced by their sponsors.
Following the teacher introductions, school administration were introduced. Kathleen Butler with TSTC thanked the teachers for their work within their respective communities and introduced two new administrators to the college, Kyle Smith and Karen Waller. She also stated that TSTC can be a good fit for those students partaking in their dual-credit courses and that visitors are welcome to learn more about the Sweetwater campus.
Highland Superintendent Hyde said that he appreciated the support of the Chamber in welcoming the new teachers, while Sweetwater Superintendent Pittman noted that the week of teachers getting back into the classroom has gone well.
Pittman also introduced the administration of SISD; they were Assistant Superintendent Kathy Smartt, Business Manager Nathan Elhert, WCTSSA (West Central Texas Shared Service Arrangement) Director Scarlett Whitteker, Sweetwater High School (SHS) Principal Stacy Jones, SHS Assistant Principal Tecka Mobley, SHS Testing Coordinator Jennifer Jones, Sweetwater Middle School (SMS) Principal Jeff Withrow, SMS Assistant Principal Danette Price, Sweetwater Intermediate School Principal Kirk Stroman, East Ridge Elementary School Principal Vicki Mayberry, Southeast Elementary School Principal Peggy Elliott, JP Cowen Early Childhood Center Principal Crystal Meneses, District Testing Coordinator Janell Jones and Athletic Director Shane Mobley.
Members of various boards--which were in attendance at the luncheon--were also introduced: Russ Petty as the president of the SISD Board of Trustees, and Terry Pittman, Kathleen Butler, Mark Mims and Stacy Dove from the Chamber Board.
The teacher sponsors for the event were Team Chip Tae Kwon Do-Sweetwater, the West Texas Children's Advocacy Center, Doug Sitter State Farm, WASP (Women's AirForce Service Pilots), First Financial Bank, Texas State Technical College, McCoy Funeral Home, Representative Susan King, First Financial Trust, Richard Fergeson State Farm, Ludlum Measurements, Stanley Ford, Investment Centers of America, Roscoe State Bank, Texas National Bank, Creative Graphic Solutions, Lone Star Ag Credit, Sweetwater Enterprise for Economic Development, Local Loan and Pawn Shop, Rolling Plains Memorial Hospital, County-City Library, Morgan Real Estate and Rolling Plains Rural Health Clinic.
The following are the new teachers, coaches and administrators that were introduced from the three schools highlighted at the luncheon:
Tony Heredia - Head Softball coach/7th-8th History
Chad Copeland - SMS Coach/7th grade Science
Bethany Bryan - Southeast, 1st grade teacher
Jana Meeks - Athletic Trainer
Ami Houston - Southeast, 1st grade teacher
John Ward - Coach/SMS Choice Academy
Chris Terry - SHS Head Tennis/Science
Becky Rees - East Ridge Counselor
Janell Jones - District Testing Coordinator
Jennifer Alden - SHS English
Janet Massey - WCTSSA Intervening Specialist
Heather Blancet - East Ridge, 3rd grade teacher
Tammy Mulanax - East Ridge, 3rd grade teacher
Jennifer Withrow - JP Cowen Head Start teacher
Alyssa Harwell - JP Cowen Head Start teacher
Laura Owen - JP Cowen Head Start teacher
Shane Mobley - Athletic Director
Tecka Mobley - SHS Assistant Principal
Giles "Bootsy" Montgomery - SHS Coach/Speech
Chris Carruthers - Coach/SMS Math
Terri Petty - SHS Math
Alex Howard - SMS 6th ELA
Nancy Escobar - SMS Tennis/6th ELA
Zach Harrell - Offensive Coordinator/Social Studies
Tony Cortez - SMS Athletic Coordinator/PE
Amy Cortez - Southeast, kindergarten
Joy Coleman - SMS 8th Math
Cory Rains -SHS Ag
Shane Faucett - Band Director
Jessica Fox - Assistant Band and Choir Director
Beth Martin - SIS 4th grade teacher
Kim Anderson - Counselor
Shea Baucum - Coach/JH English
Syree Hyde - Reading and Math Intervention, Elementary
Susan Owens - 2nd grade teacher
Logan Rawls - Boys Basketball / JH Science
Darrin Schrontz - HS Science
Heath Ince - Instructor, Wind Technology
Marlene Ruppert-Weir - Instructor, Vocational Nursing
Kyle Smith - Vice President, Student Learning

There was competition at Mustang Bowl on Tuesday at the end of the first day of a three-day...
Sweetwater High School athletes in volleyball and football start practices for the 2015 season on...
Campus Insiders presents 50 reasons why we can't wait for College Football’s return, from high-...


Premium Drupal Themes by Adaptivethemes