CLEAT members receive awards, Campbell, Ortiz receive Valor awards

June 9, 2012

Shown are Texas Heroes, recipients of the Texas Law Enforcement Achievement Awards for 2011. Awarded on June 8, 2012, at the Texas Capitol in Austin. Those receiving awards included Corporal Darrell W. Campbell and Officer Enis Lee Ortiz of the Snyder Police Department.

On June 8, 2012, the 2011 Texas Law Enforcement Achievement Awards were presented at the Texas Capitol in Austin. The ceremony was conducted by the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement Officer Standards and Education (TCLEOSE).
CLEAT would like to congratulate the winners for their dedicated and heroic service to the citizens of Texas. "We would like to give special recognition to our members from Amarillo, Kilgore, Lancaster and Snyder who received awards."
Awards Presented
Professional Achievement
Detective Haywood W. Sawyer, Jr. – Bellmead PD
Deputy Chief George D. Little – Bexar County Constable Pct. 4
Sergeant Ora L. Chandler – Houston PD
Sergeant Derek A. Prestridge – Texas DPS
Public Service
Senior Corporal Lawrence D. Allen – Dallas PD
Sergeant Charles K. Allbright – Houston PD
Officer Christopher Cruz – Amarillo PD
Officer Vinilla S. King – Amarillo PD
Officer Quirino E. Mariscal – Amarillo PD
Officer Cole D. Thurman – Amarillo PD
Corporal David L. Tucker – Kilgore PD
Lieutenant Jason B. Boulton – Lancaster PD
Sergeant Heath G. Crossland – Lancaster PD
Officer James T. Grimes – Lancaster PD
Officer Maeland J. James – Lancaster PD
Officer Michael H. Mayes – Lancaster PD
Officer Christopher W. Clements – Lewisville PD
Detective Shawn M. Dority – Lewisville PD
Officer Rocky W. Carrell – Sam Houston State University PD
Corporal Darrell W. Campbell – Snyder PD
Officer Enis L. “Lee” Ortiz – Snyder PD
Officer Paul B. Brantly – South Houston PD
Sergeant Justin B. Royall – Washington County SO
Valor (Posthumous)
Officer Kevin S. Will – Houston PD
On Tuesday, July 12, 2011 at about 12:25 a.m. officers with the Snyder Police Department were dispatched to the 700 block of 26th Street in reference to a call of shots fired in the area. Cpl. Darrell Campbell and Officer Lee Ortiz responded to the area where they made contact with several individuals in a front yard of 700 26th Street. While speaking with the subjects a male who was at the residence produced a weapon and shot Cpl. Campbell then confronted Officer Ortiz. Officer Ortiz and the male were involved in a shooting and the male was killed at the scene. Cpl. Campbell was flown to UMC in Lubbock where he underwent surgery for a gunshot wound to the head. He has since been recovering and several benefit events and prayer vigils have taken place in his honor both in Sweetwater and Snyder.
Cpl. Darrell Campbell has been with the Snyder Police Department since Sept. 1, 2009. Before being an officer at the Snyder Police Department, Campbell was an officer with the Sweetwater Police Department for about six years.
Officer Lee Ortiz has been with the Snyder Police Department since Oct. 23, 2003.

A federal judge deflated "Deflategate" Thursday, erasing New England quarterback Tom Brady's four-...
Michael Lawrence was named the Sweetwater Mustangs Player of the Week.
Sweetwater’s Kensi Chowning goes up for one of her team-high 13 kills in Tuesday’s non-district...


Classified Ads

Premium Drupal Themes by Adaptivethemes