Cook-Off, Salsa/Dessert Challenge results announced

An estimated crowd of 30,000 attended the 54th Annual Sweetwater Jaycees World's Largest Rattlesnake Round-Up. Winners of the 22nd Annual Brisket/Chili Cook-Off were announced with a total of 93 cooks entering the contest this year. Judging coordinator was Jean Gebhard. Grand Champion was Bernie Phillips and Reserve Champion was Dana Reed.RattlesnakeFirst Place, Bernie PhillipsSecond Place, Jeff Johnson, 3 ¼ Dog CookersThird Place, Don ClevengerFourth Place, Jaime GalindoFifth Place, Bud Williams, Smart Ash BBQSixth Place, Rick Fairchild, Big Rick & the RattlersSeventh Place, Robert Bredemeyer, We don't cook SheepEighth Place, Reade Dickey, Fort AngeloNinth Place, OpenTenth Place, Mike Garcia, Three AmigosBrisketFirst Place, Jim Bailey, Gannon Hill GangSecond Place, Bernie Phillips, Midkiff Mafia BBQThird Place, Grills Gone WildFourth Place, Brad Hartman, NOTW BarbecueFifth Place, Danny Gonzalez, My Lunch BoxSixth Place, Lisa ClevengerSeventh Place, Mike Howard, The UnknownsEighth Place, Dwayne Bowen, Judge & JuryNinth Place, Richard Lett, BBQ BudsTenth Place, Taylor Potts, The SkewersChickenFirst Place, Dana ReedSecond Place, Gene Everett, Buffalo BreathThird Place, Zanna Broncy, Belly Rub BBQFourth Place, Jaime Galindo, I Don't RememberFifth Place, Kem Hooper, Flame Tamers BBQSixth Place, Jackie WarnerSeventh Place, OpenEighth Place, Debbie Waltz, Waltz Across TexasNinth Place, Jerry Spoon, SpoonTenth Place, Bernie PhillipsPork Spare RibsFirst Place, Jackie Warner, Over the HillSecond Place, Dana Reed, Plum Creek CookersThird Place, Shannon White, What's CookinFourth Place, Dusty Ratliff, Southern PackersFifth Place, Fernando Moreno, BCCSixth Place, Adon Reyna, Che's Bar-B-QueSeventh Place, Jim BaileyEighth Place, Justin Jones, Keeping Up with the JonesNinth Place, OpenTenth Place, Brad HartmanNon Sanctioned ChiliFirst Place, Kristen BaxterSecond Place, Josh EverettThird Place, Kem HooperFourth Place, Rashel LukerFifth Place, Shannon WhiteSixth Place, Jeff JohnsonSeventh Place, Matt HansonEighth Place, Dewayne JohnsonNinth Place, Jeni CarsonTenth Place, Gene EverettFriendliest Camp: My Lunch BoxTop Five WinnersFirst Place, Bernie PhillipsSecond Place, Dana ReedThird Place, Jackie WarnerFourth Place, Jaime GalindoFifth Place, Jimmy BaileyAlso held during the Round-Up was the Girl Scouts 13th annual dessert contest and 18th annual salsa challenge. The following are the winners of the dessert contest: Cakes, Melissa Garcia of Odessa with her caramel cake; miscellaneous desserts, Delana Johnson of San Angelo with her brownie delight; and best overall dessert, Matt Hansen of Sweetwater with brownies. There were no entries in the cobbler or pies categories.The following are the winners of the salsa challenge: Most Unique, Jane Bryant of Abilene with "All Sauced Up"; Hottest, Stella Vaughn of Odessa with "Inferno"; Mildest, Matt Hansen of Sweetwater with “Sweetheart Barbecue"; People's Choice, Stella Vaughn of Odessa with "Inferno"; Best Overall, Terri Horturen of New Braunfels with "NOTW Barbecue".