Elected officials sworn in

This week, officials were sworn into their respective positions following the May 10 local election.Pictured are Jana Hall, Mark Meneses and Russ Petty taking the oath of office during Monday night’s meeting of the Sweetwater ISD Board of Trustees. Hall garnered 232 of the 292 total votes cast in District 5 to win the seat on the school board, while Meneses and Petty were unopposed in Districts 3 and 4, respectively. The election results were canvassed at the meeting.During Tuesday's meeting of the Sweetwater City Commission, City Secretary Patty Torres administered the oath of office to Precinct 4 City Commissioner Jerod Peek and Precinct 2 City Commissioner Jim McKenzie. TThe election results from the May 10 election were canvassed and a resolution was adopted declaring the official election results at the meeting. McKenzie obtained 47 of the 75 total votes within Precinct 2, while Peek garnered 157 of the 244 total votes cast for Precinct 4.