Five capture state medals in Class 1A-D2

May 13, 2013

Five Nolan County athletes came away with state medals Friday at the Class 1A, Division II meet

AUSTIN — Five Nolan County athletes came away with state medals Friday at the Class 1A, Division II meet, and there were three other fourth-place finishes as well.
Blackwell’s Jayden Jones won a first-place gold medal in the boys pole vault with a leap of 13 feet, six inches. Highland’s Michael Hyde won a third-place bronze in the same event at 12-6.
Highland’s Beth Richburg won a second-place silver in the girls 100-meter hurdles in 16.31 seconds, .04 behind Morgan’s Claudia Escamilla, and another talented Highland athlete — Sheldon Hall — captured a third-place bronze medal in the boys 800 run (2:01.30).
Roscoe’s Jesus Leanos also took home a third-place bronze in the boys 3,200 with a time of 10:27.70.
Both Hall and Richburg just missed a second medal on Friday as Hall placed fourth in the boys 400 dash (52.20), while Richburg was fourth in the girls 300 hur-dles (49.15).
Hall and Richburg came in with the fastest state qualifying times in the events where they medaled. Hall qualified in 2:01.71 at regionals, while Richburg’s regional qualifying time was 15.88 seconds.
Also, Matthew Lowry of Blackwell fell just short with a fourth-place finish in the boys high jump (6-1) Friday at Austin.
Richburg also ran a leg for Highland on its 1600 relay (4:20.52), which was sixth. Hannah Allen, Lora Stewart and Sierra Allen were the other runners on the relay.
Also for Blackwell, Steph-anie Metcalf was ninth in the girls triple jump (32-2 1/4) while in the boys pole vault, Mason Magness of Blackwell did not clear a height. Jones, Hyde and Magness were 1-2-3 in their qualifying heights for state.

View more articles in:
Twenty girls participated this past week in a Lady Mustang Softball Camp held at the Jerry Collins...
The Mustang Football Camp will be July 21-23 at Mustang Bowl from 8-11 a.m. for students entering...
The 2015 Sweetwater High School softball team was recently honored by Sweetwater ISD trustees with...


Premium Drupal Themes by Adaptivethemes