Five receive top 13-1A honors

March 6, 2014

Five of the top basketball honors in District 13-1A, Division II have been given to Nolan County athletes.
District champion and state semifinalist Highland won two top girls honors, as Sierra Allen was named District 13-1A’s MVP and Kelsi Johns was the district’s newcomer of the year, while Eva Aguayo of district runnerup and regional quarterfinalist Roscoe was named the defensive player of the year in District 13-1A. Also on the first team for High-land were Beth Richburg, Madison Moseley, Hannah Allen and Sydny Helbert, with Highland’s Schylar Kimbrell receiving all-district honorable mention.
Roscoe’s other all-district honorees were Sam Ortega and Sunshine Talamantez. Earning honorable mention for the Plowgirls were Shel-by Brown, Ashton Payne, Selena Perez and Whitney Williams. Sierra Allen, Hannah Allen, Richburg, Helbert, Johns, Morgan Monroe, Kara McNeely and Kaylee Martin of Highland and Aguayo, Payne, Wil-liams, Talamantez, Amber Craig and Cassie Chavira of Roscoe are on the District 13-1A all-academic team.
Getting top honors on the 13-1A boys team were Jesus Leanos of Roscoe, who was chosen the offensive MVP, and Isaac Rios of Highland, the newcomer of the year.
Highland’s Ethan Wilson and Jacob Richburg and Roscoe’s Javier Leanos and Cutter Davila also made the all-district team.
In addition, Highland’s Kevin Box, Brandon Stevens and Michael Hyde received all-district honorable men-tion in 13-1A.

View more articles in:
Sweetwater’s Kensi Chowning goes up for one of her team-high 13 kills in Tuesday’s non-district...
Pictured are the girls who attended Sweetwater Middle School’s volleyball camp to improve their...
The high school football season officially began Monday, as Sweetwater football players reported to...


Classified Ads

Premium Drupal Themes by Adaptivethemes