HOBY award winners announced

The winners of the HOBY (Hugh O’Brian Youth Leadership) Award were announced last week, at Sweetwtaer High School. The winner was Mackensey Hayes and runner up was Madison Meneses. The winners were selected after submitting a 100-word essay on leadership. A selection committee narrowed down the top ten finalists, which then went through a questionare filled out by the SHS faculty. The awarded yearly to a sophomore who scores high in written essay, shows a positive attitude, displays leadership among his or her peers, dependable, cooperates with others, has high work ethic, shows respect and courtesy for themselves, authority and classmates.