Local 4-H volunteer honored at Silver Clover Banquet

The Texas AgriLife Extension Service’s annual Silver Clover Recognition Banquet celebrated its 45th year on Aug. 9, at Zentners Daughter Steak House in San Angelo.This year’s event recognized 32 individuals who are instrumental to the success of AgriLife Extension’s West Central District 4-H youth program, said Kathy Aycock, AgriLife Extension agent for family and consumer science in Tom Green County and banquet coordinator. “Top volunteers are the backbone of all successful 4-H programs, Aycock said. “They put in countless hours of work helping 4-H members become successful with a variety of projects. 4-H offers a variety of projects, activities and events tailored specifically to support and enhance volunteer participation and involvement in kids' lives. This is our time as AgriLife Extension agents to show them the appreciation they deserve.”Aycock said each county selects nominees who are then chosen by a committee comprised of area electric cooperative personnel and AgriLife Extension officials.The banquet is sponsored by the rural electric cooperatives serving the 23 counties in AgriLife Extension’s District 7 in West Central Texas. This year’s supporters included Central Texas Electric Cooperative, Coleman County Electric Cooperative, Concho Valley Electric Cooperative, Hamilton County Electric Cooperative, Big Country Electric Cooperative, Pedernales Electric Cooperative, Southwest Texas Electric Cooperative and Taylor Electric Cooperative.The honorees were:Brown County — Wendy Harris.Burnet County — Mary Alice Herring.Callahan County — Paula Kinslow.Coleman County — Dusty and Kristi Greaves.Concho County — Terry Farris, Alexandria Scott.Fisher County — Cathy Posey.Irion County — Natalie Harris.Jones County — Kody and Jenny Hogan.Lampasas County — Rick Baxter.Llano County — Terrie Smarr.Mason County — Gary and Karen Jennings.McCulloch County — Doug and Tammy Hemphill, Pam Schwertner.Menard County — John Osborne, Cary Rambo.Mills County — Kody Sutherland.Nolan County — Carter Scott.Runnels County — Scott and Mylea Flanagan, Laura Pospichal.San Saba County — Kay Stewart.Schleicher County — Nancy Lester.Sterling County — John Williams.Taylor County — Shannon and Kim Berry.Tom Green County — Annette Guerrero, Gary Harness.