Local music students receive awards

Music students of Noreen Carson performed their annual Spring Awards Recital in the sanctuary of the First Baptist Church on May 29, and were recognized during the following awards presentation for their accomplishments throughout the year. Fifteen students received honors for participating in the Texas Music Teachers Association’s Theory Test held on the Hardin Simmons University campus. Faith Santiago, Isabella Petty and Nabil Sutjipto received certificates; Katie Pantoja and Kaylee Martin were awarded bronze medals; Hayden Wehba, Kaitlyn Chance, Kaitlyn Foster, Audrey Mink received silver medals; and gold medals were awarded to Sydni Jackson, Garrison Eaker, Kyrsten Smith, Muna Sutjipto, Hannah Vermillion and Natalie Barela.The following piano students received certificates and medals for successfully auditioning before a Guild judge in May in the National Guild Auditions. District winning bronze medalists who performed a five piece memorized program were Hayden Wehba, Kaitlyn Chance, Brooke Hefner and Kevin Pantoja. State winners, completing a seven piece memorized program and receiving silver medals, were Devin Gutierrez and Katie Pantoja. National winners who performed a ten piece memorized program and received gold medals were Jade Pinkerton, Sydni Jackson, Megan Kirkland, Kyrsten Smith, Allison Marlett, Isabella Petty, Michallah McKinney, Muna Sutjipto, Garrison Eaker, Hannah Vermillion and Audrey Mink. Audrey also received a 5-year gold award for having completed five years of National programs. Natalie Barela was awarded an International medal and an Early Bach Gold Medal Plaque for having performed 15 memorized pieces composed by J.S. Bach.Certificates were presented by Mrs. Carson to students who accomplished 100% of their musicianship phase goals consisting of learning the fundamentals of scales, chords, cadences and arpeggios at their level of learning. Recipients of these certificates were piano students Jade Pinkerton, Sydni Jackson, Megan Kirkland, Faith Santiago, Garrison Eaker, Isabella Petty, Allison Marlett, Kyrsten Smith, Isak Alvarez, Katie Pantoja, Hannah Vermillion, Natalie Barela, Caroline Lawrence and guitar student Jeremy Witt.Devin Gutierrez was recognized for having accomplished his third year of Music Braille study. Natalie Barela received a certificate in honor of completing over 130 scriptures in her Music Scripture Journal.Gold Star Winners, an award given to encourage consistent practice, were awarded certificates and gift cards. Fifth place winner was Kaitlyn Foster; fourth place was Hannah Vermillion; third place, Sydni Jackson; second place, Hayden Wehba and first place, Natalie Barela.Natalie Barela, Kaitlyn Chance, Audrey Mink, Katie Pantoja, Kyrsten Smith, Muna Sutjipto and Hannah Vermillion were presented Ensemble pins and bars from Abilene Music Teachers Association for their participation on the 2011 Piano Teams. The 20 plus member ensembles performed in the AMTA Showcase Concert presented at the Abilene Civic Center and will also perform at the Texas Music Teachers Association convention in Arlington.