New Leadership Sweetwater class commences

September 14, 2011

Leadership Sweetwater members attended orientation at Texas State Technical College in Sweetwater on the morning of Tuesday, Sept. 13. Shown are (back row) David McDonald, Tim Monday, Kirk Mayberry, Kevin Blackwell, Bri Burnett, Matt Weaver (front row) Joni Coons, Ken Holcomb, Caroline Staggs, Dawna Fullwood, Stacy Jones and Brandy Thompson. Not pictured are Jan Smith and Shannyn Taggert. Photo by Melissa Winslow

The Leadership Sweetwater class of 2012 started their nine month course Tuesday morning at Texas State Technical College in Sweetwater. The program is sponsored by the Chamber of Commerce and is a hands-on, interactive experience that allows members to have fun and bond while they learn. The members of the 2012 class will be learning how Sweetwater works by getting "locked up" in jail, sitting in on court sessions and touring the fire station and water treatment facility. They will also be introduced at the City Commission meeting in October. The goals of the Leadership Sweetwater 2012 class are learning, teamwork, being leaders in action, appreciation and the betterment of the community. The schedule for Leadership Sweetwater will take members through city/county issues, quality of life, the economy, health issues, education, local and state government and the military. Members will also be heading to Austin and Dyess Air Force Base to get more hands-on experience with state government and the military. Graduation from the program will take place on Tuesday, May 8, 2012 at TSTC West Texas.

Michael Lawrence was named the Sweetwater Mustangs Player of the Week.
Sweetwater’s Kensi Chowning goes up for one of her team-high 13 kills in Tuesday’s non-district...
Pictured are the girls who attended Sweetwater Middle School’s volleyball camp to improve their...


Classified Ads

Premium Drupal Themes by Adaptivethemes