Regional economic development workshop held in Sweetwater

August 16, 2011

Robert Puls and Garolyn Jergins from the Workforce Solutions office in Abilene, Gary Robinett from Abilene Industrial Foundation and Kirstin Smith and Ken Becker from Sweetwater Enterprise for Economic Development were among the 45 attendees at the regional economic development workshop held in Sweetwater last week.

Sweetwater Enterprise for Economic Development Executive Director Ken Becker and Executive Assistant Kirstin Smith joined economic and community development representatives from throughout the region at the Texas State Technical College campus on Wednesday, Aug. 10 to hear presentations related to enhancing local economic development initiatives.
A workshop entitled “Operating in the World of Economic Development” offered presentations by several economic development specialists. Topics included: update on new state-wide Comprehensive Economic Development Strategy (CEDS); WCTCOG programs supporting local economic development; how to use the regional Internet data portal hosted by Abilene Christian University; funding sources/developing good sites/infrastructure issues; report on regional study that identified target industries; and overview of Business and Community Lenders of Texas.
The workshop was open to members and guests of the Texas Midwest Economic Development Alliance. The Alliance was formed in 1999 to provide educational and networking support to TMCN cities actively engaged in economic development.
The Economic Development Alliance is one of several programs conducted by Texas Midwest Community Network, an organization of “communities working together to accomplish what one community cannot do alone.” The regional organization sponsors a number of networking events during the year as well as projects to market the region for business and tourism development.
TMCN member cities include: Abilene, Albany, Anson, Aspermont, Baird, Ballinger, Brady, Breckenridge, Bronte, Brownwood, Buffalo Gap, Cisco, Clyde, Coleman, Colorado City, Comanche, Cross Plains, De Leon, Dublin, Early, Eastland, Eden, Goldthwaite, Gorman, Hamilton, Hamlin, Haskell, Hico, Knox City, Menard, Merkel, Miles, Munday, Ranger, Robert Lee, Rising Star, Roscoe, Rotan, San Angelo, San Saba, Santa Anna, Snyder, Stamford, Sweetwater, Throckmorton, Tye and Winters.
For more information about TMCN visit the website

Should college football add 64 teams to the playoffs?
Reserved season football tickets for the 2015 season at Sweetwater High School will be up for...
There was competition at Mustang Bowl on Tuesday at the end of the first day of a three-day...


Premium Drupal Themes by Adaptivethemes