Runoff Election is Tuesday

May 23, 2014

The Republican and Democratic runoff election is scheduled for Tuesday, May 27, 2014 at the regular polling places. Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.
According to, "If a voter voted in the [March] primary election, the voter must vote in the same political party runoff election. If a voter did not vote in the primary election, the voter may still vote in the runoff election and for the party of their choice."
Appearing on the Republican ballot with local implications are Connie Jamison and Jamie Clem for the District Clerk nomination. The other candidates on the ballot will be David Dewhurst and Dan Patrick for Lieutenant Governor, Ken Paxton and Dan Branch for Attorney General, Tommy Merritt and Sid Miller for Commissioner of Agriculture, Wayne Christian and Ryan Sitton for Railroad Commissioner.
The Democratic ballot will have David M. Alameel and Kesha Rogers for United States Senator, and Jim Hogan and Richard "Kinky" Friedman for Commissioner of Agriculture.
The County Clerk's office wants to remind voters about the new voter ID law, which requires one of the following forms of identification before a person is allowed to vote. The ID is necessary even if a voter has their voter registration card on hand.
The types of ID that will be accepted are:
• Texas driver license issued by the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS);
• Texas Election Identification Certificate issued free of charge by DPS (a new ID, which is not your voter registration card);
• Texas personal ID card issued by DPS;
• Texas concealed handgun license issued by DPS;
• US Military ID card containing person’s photograph;
• US citizenship certificate containing person’s photograph, or;
• US Passport.
Anyone with questions regarding the election can contact County Clerk Pat McGowan at 325-235-2462. Listed below are the polling places in Nolan County for the Tuesday, May 27 election:
Pct. # 1
Broadway Baptist Church
710 East Third
Sweetwater, Texas 79556
Pct. # 2
Trinity Baptist Church
1503 Crescent Dr.
Sweetwater, Texas 79556
Pct. # 3
Lamar Street Baptist Church
513 Lamar Street
Sweetwater, Texas 79556
Pct. # 4
Evangelical Methodist Church
700 Lamar
Sweetwater, Texas 79556
Pct. # 5
Nolan/Divide Community Center
1742 FM 126
Nolan, Texas 79537
Pct. # 6
Roscoe Community Center
100 Bois D’Arc
Roscoe, Texas 79545
Pct. # 7
Blackwell School
610 North Alamo Ave.
Blackwell, Texas 79506
Pct. # 8
Maryneal Community Center
210 Walnut
Maryneal, Texas 79535
Pct. # 9
Avondale Baptist Church
1405 Hoyt Street
Sweetwater, Texas 79556

Sweetwater’s Kensi Chowning goes up for one of her team-high 13 kills in Tuesday’s non-district...
Pictured are the girls who attended Sweetwater Middle School’s volleyball camp to improve their...
The high school football season officially began Monday, as Sweetwater football players reported to...


Classified Ads

Premium Drupal Themes by Adaptivethemes