SMS Robotics teams receive award

April 23, 2013

Sweetwater Middle School Robotics team members pictured are (from left to right) back row, Ty Casto, David Ehlert, Daniel Peña, middle row, Gabriel Salazar, Jaelynn Page, Blake Armstrong, Katy Nixon, Jaci McElyea, Jonathon Magee, Lindsey Romero, lower middle, Skylar Flores, Annaliese Espinosa, Isabella Peña, Josh Browning, front row, Christa Martin & Annisa McCollum.

On Saturday, the Sweetwater Middle School Robotics Program took five teams to compete in the GEAR Robotics Competition at Texas Tech University in Lubbock. The competition officially began on March 23, when the theme of the competition was revealed. This year's theme was Dr. Roboto. It focused on how robots are used in the medical field.
To compete, each team designed a robot, programmed it to complete simulated medical missions and write an engineering essay explaining how they approached the challenge. Each team also came up with a team name and t-shirt design for the competition.  
The SMS Robotics teams were recognized out of 122 competing teams at the competition by receiving the GEAR HEAD award. This is earned by the teams with the most imaginative use of materials in their robot design. Sixth graders Bianca Bohall and Nikki Gutierrez scored a high enough score to be in the top 10 percent of teams at the competition.

Sweetwater has made a change to its best-of-3 bi-district baseball playoff series with Borger this...
Hannah Allen is going back to the state meet. The Highland junior will be going for the third year...
ABILENE — Sweetwater’s district co-champion baseball team prepared for this weekend’s Class 4A bi-...


Premium Drupal Themes by Adaptivethemes