SMS students place in State TMSCA competition

May 6, 2013

Shown are (front row, from left to right) teacher Carola Martin, Christa Martin, Stephanie Gallardo, Annaliese Espinoza, Shawna Faucett, Jaci McElyea, teacher Kim Arpin, (back row, from left to right) teacher Dan Huskerson, Ty Casto, Jaelyn Page, John Clift, teacher Larry Hopple & Sweetwater Middle School Principal Jeff Withrow. These 11 students recently competed in the Texas Math and Science Coaches Association (TMSCA) State competition.

Recently, 11 students from Sweetwater Middle School competed in the TMSCA (Texas Math and Science Coaches Association) State competition. In attendance were 106 schools and over 2000 middle school students from all over the state of Texas. The competition consists of four different sections. Students compete in Number Sense, Calculator, Mathematics and Science.
Sweetwater qualified to compete in Number Sense, Calculator and Science. The Sweetwater science team received fourth place overall in science. The team members were Serena Flores, John Clift, Daniel Peña and Stephanie Gallardo. Mr. Hopple said that he "was extremely proud of the way the students competed. They were just awesome each and every one of them."
Individual Competitors:
• Serena Flores received fifth place in the state in eighth grade science.
• John Clift received 11th place in the state in eighth grade science.
• Daniel Peña received 18th place in the state in eighth grade science.
• Stephanie Gallardo received 8th place in the state in sixth grade science.
• Annaliese Espinoza received 18th in eighth grade calculator.
Also competing at the State Meet were Jaelyn Page in calculator, Christa Martin in calculator, Bella Peña in calculator, Ty Casto in number sense, Jaci McElyea in science and Shawna Faucett in number sense.
Coaches at Sweetwater Middle School for TMSCA are Kim Arpin, Larry Hopple, Dan Huskerson and Carola Martin.
The team was recently honored at a Sweetwater Independent School District Board of Trustees meeting where a resolution was read. The Resolution stated that the team "brought honor, pride and distinction to the city of Sweetwater and to the Sweetwater Independent School District during the 2012-2013 school year and has excelled in performance."
The resolution also stated that the students have continually exhibited a winning spirit, discipline and dedication, competing with pride, enthusiasm and considerable hard work.

Sweetwater’s Kensi Chowning goes up for one of her team-high 13 kills in Tuesday’s non-district...
Pictured are the girls who attended Sweetwater Middle School’s volleyball camp to improve their...
The high school football season officially began Monday, as Sweetwater football players reported to...


Classified Ads

Premium Drupal Themes by Adaptivethemes