Special election called Sept. 9

Texas Governor Rick Perry has called a special election for Tuesday, Sept. 9, 2014, to fill the unexpired term of Texas State Senate District 28 seat, vacated by Sen. Robert Duncan.Those running for the position are former Texas Tech Vice Chancellor Jodey Arrington, Wolfforth resident Epifanio Garza, former Sweetwater Mayor Greg Wortham and State Rep. Charles Perry, R-Lubbock.The County Clerk's Office wants to remind voters that the September election is special-called. The regular general election will still be held on Tuesday, Nov. 4.Voters may now begin to start requesting a ballot by mail. The last day to register to vote is on Monday, Aug. 11.The final day for the County Clerk to receive applications to vote by mail is Friday, Aug. 29.Early voting for the special election will be held on Monday, Aug. 25 through Friday, Sept. 5 from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday, in the County Clerk's office, located inside the Nolan County Courthouse in Suite 108.Election Day for the special election will then take place on Tuesday, Sept. 9, with polls open from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m.The County Clerk's office wants to remind voters about the new voter ID law, which requires one of the following forms of identification before a person is allowed to vote. The ID is necessary even if a voter has their voter registration card on hand.The types of ID that will be accepted are:• Texas driver license issued by the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS);• Texas Election Identification Certificate issued free of charge by DPS (a new ID, which is not your voter registration card);• Texas personal ID card issued by DPS;• Texas concealed handgun license issued by DPS;• US Military ID card containing person’s photograph;• US citizenship certificate containing person’s photograph, or;• US Passport.Anyone with questions regarding the election can contact County Clerk Pat McGowan at 325-235-2462, 235-4635 or by email at pat.mcgowan@co.nolan.tx.us. Listed below are the polling places in Nolan County for the Tuesday, September 9 special election:Pct. # 1Broadway Baptist Church710 East ThirdSweetwater, Texas 79556Pct. # 2Trinity Baptist Church 1503 Crescent Dr.Sweetwater, Texas 79556Pct. # 3Lamar Street Baptist Church513 Lamar StreetSweetwater, Texas 79556Pct. # 4Evangelical Methodist Church700 LamarSweetwater, Texas 79556Pct. # 5Nolan/Divide Community Center1742 FM 126Nolan, Texas 79537Pct. # 6Roscoe Community Center100 Bois D’ArcRoscoe, Texas 79545Pct. # 7Blackwell School610 North Alamo Ave.Blackwell, Texas 79506Pct. # 8Maryneal Community Center210 WalnutMaryneal, Texas 79535Pct. # 9Avondale Baptist Church1405 Hoyt StreetSweetwater, Texas 79556