SW, Blackwell are given playoff nods

June 23, 2014

A six-year playoff drought will end this season for the Sweetwater football team.
So says Dave Campbell’s Texas Football magazine, which is now available on newsstands and is predic-ting that the Mustangs will finish second in their new district (2-4A, Division II) to Monahans in 2014. The last time Sweetwater made the playoffs was 2008.
Blackwell — the only Nolan County school to reach the postseason each of the last two years — will make it again in 2014, ac-cording to the magazine. The Hornets are picked to finish second in their new district (7-1A, Division II) to Loraine.
The news is not so good for Roscoe and Highland.
The Plowboys are picked to finish last in their new district (6-2A, Division II), which also includes Win-ters, Menard, Roby, Bronte and Miles.
Highland doesn’t fare a lot better as the Hornets are picked to finish third — one spot from the playoffs — in District 7-1A, Division I that also includes Ira, Herm-leigh and Westbrook.
Sweetwater’s senior def-ensive back Isaiah McGee is District 2-4A, Division II’s preseason defensive MVP. Receiver Bray Amos (1,067 yards, 19 TDs) and quarter-back Kaegan Jeffrey (2,752 yards, 34 TDs) also return for Sweetwater. Amos and McGee each earned all-state recognition in 2013.
Blackwell’s Charlie Cano is District 7-1A, Division II’s preseason defensive MVP as his team tries for its third straight playoff appearance in a district that now also includes Trent and Moran. Receiver Gaga Soedarsono (490 yards, 10 TDs) and QB Jacob Richburg (959 yards, 16 TDs) are among return-ing players for Highland.
Roscoe returns nine of-fensive and 10 defensive starters, including quarter-back Cutter Davila (2,296 yards, 26 TDs) and receiver Rafael Aguayo (512 yards, 8 TDs) for second-year head coach Jake Freeman.

View more articles in:
Michael Lawrence was named the Sweetwater Mustangs Player of the Week.
Sweetwater’s Kensi Chowning goes up for one of her team-high 13 kills in Tuesday’s non-district...
Pictured are the girls who attended Sweetwater Middle School’s volleyball camp to improve their...


Classified Ads

Premium Drupal Themes by Adaptivethemes