SW team starts 3rd straight sectional

July 12, 2012

11-12 year-old all-stars take on Burkburnett in opener tonight

A talented group of Sweetwater 11-12 year-old Little League all-stars will be taking on Burkburnett in a Texas West Section 2 tournament at Carrollton starting at 7:30 p.m. today.
This is the third straight year for most of the team’s players to be in a sectional tournament after winning the District 5 tournament in Abilene. It began in 2010 when the vast majority of them traveled to Fort Worth to play on a 9-10 year-old team and continued in 2011 when they went to Waco as 10-11 year-olds.
Sweetwater will be trying to take the next step this year by advancing to the Texas West State Little League Tournament in Fort Worth that starts July 19.
The current team’s players are pictured here holding up each of the three sectional banners they have won starting in 2010. From left are players Jordan McGee, Ky Hoover, Noah Martinez, Kiante McCoy, Taylor Turney, Andrew Melendez, Taiden Smith, Mason Maxwell, Chris Thompson, Tristan Longoria, Isak Alvarez and Kobe Clark. Also pictured from left are coach Lewis Martinez, coach Randy Melendez, manager Kenny Maxwell and coach Joe Hall. Not pictured are coaches Neal Hoover and Sammy Alvarez.
If Sweetwater wins today, it will face Fort Worth University in the semifinals on Friday; it it loses, the team plays North Garland or Waco Midway on Friday.

View more articles in:
Should college football add 64 teams to the playoffs?
Reserved season football tickets for the 2015 season at Sweetwater High School will be up for...
There was competition at Mustang Bowl on Tuesday at the end of the first day of a three-day...


Premium Drupal Themes by Adaptivethemes