Sweetwater loses Brownwood, gains Monahans and G'wood

Sweetwater's district for the next two years will be slightly bigger and not necessarily any easier.The University Interscholastic League announced its realignment today, and Sweetwater's new district (4-3A) will still include Wylie, Big Spring and Snyder from the current five-team District 5-3A, plus newcomers Monahans and Midland Greenwood to make a six-team district. Brownwood, which is the other school currently in District 5-3A, moves to District 8-3A to face a whole new set of opponents, none of them located near Sweetwater or Abilene.Monahans and Greenwood are currently playing in District 4-3A, but their current rivals are Andrews, Fort Stockton and Seminole. Monahans hasn't played in Sweetwater's district since both teams were in Class 4A in the 1990s. This year, the Loboes advanced to the Class 3A, Division II semifinals in football before losing to Argyle. Monahans has also played Sweetwater in non-district the past two years, as well as other years before that. While Greenwood has never been in Sweetwater's district, the schools are very familiar with each other as they have met in both the playoffs and non-district games several times during the past decade.Roscoe will remain in District 7-A, Division II in football but will see big changes in its district. The eight-team district will also include Albany, Baird, Cross Plains, Gorman, Hamlin, Ranger and Roby. The only holdovers from Roscoe's current District 7-A are Hamlin and Roby. Two other members, Crosbyton and Ralls, were shuttled over to District 4-A, Division II. The other member, Rotan, will play six-man football starting next year and joins Highland in District 7, Division I along with Hermleigh and Ira. Hermleigh and Ira are currently in District 6, Division I with Highland and Aspermont.Blackwell will stay in District 8 Six-man, Division II in football where it joins Panther Creek, Lohn and Robert Lee. The Hornets' current district also includes Panther Creek, as well as Paint Rock and Novice.Roscoe will be joining Highland in the same basketball district for the next two years after dropping from Class 1A, Division I to Class 1A, Division II. Both schools were placed in District 13 along with Hermleigh, Ira, Loraine and Westbrook. Blackwell will play in District 14 along with Bronte, Garden City, Paint Rock, Robert Lee, Sterling City, Veribest and Water Valley.See a more complete list of the new districts on page 3 of today's newspaper.