Tuesday is Election Day

Voters will head to the polls for the primary election this Tuesday, March 4 from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. to decide which federal, state and county officials will appear on the November election ballot for their respective party. County races include County Judge, District Clerk, County Clerk, Justice of the Peace and County Chairman. In addition, County Precincts 2 and 9, as well as Precincts 4 and 8, will vote for County Commissioners for Precincts 2 and 4. Thus, Precincts 1, 3, 4, 6 and 7 do not have any commissioner races.Various party referendums will appear on the ballot, as Democrats will be voting on immigration reform, living wages for Texans, Medicaid expansion and non-discrimation legislation. Republicans will be voting on religious freedom, the Second Amendment, franchise tax, welfare reform, "no lawmaker exceptions" and "Obamacare".(A full list of candidates for both Democrat and Republican races and the detailed party referendums can be found on Page 3.)The County Clerk's office wants to remind voters about the new voter ID law, which requires one of the following forms of identification before a person is allowed to vote. The ID is necessary even if a voter has their voter registration card on hand.The types of ID that will be accepted are:• Texas driver license issued by the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS)• Texas Election Identification Certificate issued free of charge by DPS (a new ID, which is not your voter registration card)• Texas personal ID card issued by DPS• Texas concealed handgun license issued by DPS• US Military ID card containing person’s photograph• US citizenship certificate containing person’s photograph, or• US PassportAnyone with questions regarding the election can contact County Clerk Pat McGowan at 325-235-2462 or 325-235-4635, or by email at pat.mcgowan@co.nolan.tx.us. Listed below are the polling places in Nolan County for the Tuesday, March 4 election:Pct. # 1: Broadway Baptist Church710 East ThirdSweetwater, Texas 79556Pct. # 2: Trinity Baptist Church1503 Crescent Dr.Sweetwater, Texas 79556Pct. # 3: Lamar Street Baptist Church513 Lamar StreetSweetwater, Texas 79556Pct. # 4: Evangelical Methodist Church700 LamarSweetwater, Texas 79556Pct. # 5: Nolan/Divide Community Center1742 FM 126Nolan, Texas 79537Pct. # 6: Roscoe Community Center100 Bois D’ArcRoscoe, Texas 79545Pct. # 7: Blackwell School610 North Alamo Ave.Blackwell, Texas 79506Pct. # 8: Maryneal Community Center210 WalnutMaryneal, Texas 79535Pct. # 9: Avondale Baptist Church1405 Hoyt StreetSweetwater, Texas 79556