Two ‘Stangs receive APSE hon. mention

December 19, 2012

Tadeo Canon-Masjoan

Two Sweetwater High School football players — senior defensive lineman Tadeo Canon-Masjoan and senior linebacker Ryan Linebaugh — have received honorable mention to the Associated Press Sports Editors Class 3A all-state team released on Tuesday.
Both Canon-Masjoan and Linebaugh were named to the All-District 4-3A first team that was announced in early December.
Linebaugh had a team-high 135 tackles and Canon-Masjoan 118. Canon-Mas-joan also led the team with 16 tackles for a loss, nine sacks and 12 pass hurries and he and Linebaugh both had three fumble recover-ies, while Linebaugh also caused three fumbles.
This was the first time for either Canon-Masjoan or Linebaugh to receive all-state recognition, though both of them also earned all-district honors in 2011.
Kam Williams of Midland Greenwood at punter was the only 4-3A player on the APSE all-state first team. Wylie offensive lineman Riley Olsen and Monahans linebacker Jackson Scharf made the second team. Wylie’s DeAndre Key (offensive line) and Garrett Martin (running back), Monahans’ Joe Brandenburg (offensive line) and Tivo Armendariz (defensive line), Green-wood’s Williams (quarter-back), Logan Day (linebac-ker) and Mason Fraley (defensive back) and Big Spring’s Chris Nunez (offensive line) also received all-state honorable mention.

View more articles in:
Reserved season football tickets for the 2015 season at Sweetwater High School will be up for...
There was competition at Mustang Bowl on Tuesday at the end of the first day of a three-day...
Sweetwater High School athletes in volleyball and football start practices for the 2015 season on...


Premium Drupal Themes by Adaptivethemes