All-district Hornets

First came a 10-win sea-son, the first in 17 years.As a result, 10 Blackwell players have been chosen to the all-District 8, Division II six-man team as a tribute to the Hornets’ season which saw them win the district title and advance past the bi-district round for the first time since 1996.Blackwell’s Jayden Jones and Matthew Lowry were named the District 8, Divi-sion II offensive and defensive MVPs, respectively.In addition, Lowry — a quarterback-cornerback who is the son of Blackwell head football coach Clint Lowry and transferred from Panther Creek prior to his senior season — and Jones, a tailback-linebacker, were both chosen for the Six-Man Coaches Association’s all-star game in Wichita Falls set for next July.“I’m proud of both of them. They had great years and I think they both deserve it,” said Clint Low-ry in talking about the latter honor. “I don’t know if it has really set in for them, but it will. It will be a great experience for them.”Despite playing just eight games prior to Blackwell’s playoff run, the two players had impressive regular-season stats. Matthew Lowry completed 41 of 63 passes for 822 yards and 19 touch-downs, while Jones rushed for 1,381 yards and 31 TDs, averaging nearly 13 yards a carry, and had 77 tackles. Lowry was the all-district quarterback and Jones was an all-district linebacker.Also getting multiple all-district honors were Franck Cano (running back, special teams and defensive line), Wade Allen (tight end and kicker), Mason Magness (fullback, defensive line) and Ted Chambliss (wide receiver and cornerback).