All-district Mustangs

Six football players from Sweetwater are on the all-District 4-3A first team. A seventh player, defensive lineman Cory Mendez, was named District 4-3A co-newcomer of the year.Four first teamers — quarter-back Kaegan Jeffrey, wide receivers Bray Amos and Kaleb Hoover and center Andrew Davis — were named on offense while two others — linebacker Mar-quees Jenkins and defensive back Isaiah McGee — were named on defense. In all, 18 Mustangs were honored.McGee made the 4-3A second team as a wide receiver. The other second teamers were Angel Caballero and Ty Crain on the offensive line, Daven Alvarez at defensive end, Dylan Bennett at defensive back and Jacoby Hunt at middle linebacker. De’andre Gatson, Trey Harvey, Stephen May, Don-ato Gaxiola, Kendall Rea and James Clift received all-district honorable mention.Jeffrey, who was the 4-3A co-newcomer of the year as a sophomore, threw for 2,774 yards and 34 touch-downs as a junior. Amos (64 catches, 1,037 yards, 19 TDs), Hoover (46-718, 7 TDs) and McGee are first-team selections for the sec-ond straight year at their positions, while Jenkins made the first team for the first time. McGee had 98 tackles and Jenkins 64. In addition, McGee caught 33 passes for 595 yards and four TDs. Alvarez had 91 tackles and a team-high four sacks. Bennett broke up a team-high seven passes. Hunt, who is only a freshman, had 60 tackles. Mendez, a soph-omore, had 45 tackles.Hoover, Davis, Jenkins, Caballero, Alvarez, Bennett, Gatson, Harvey, May, Gax-iola, Rea and Clift are sen-iors while Amos, McGee and Crain are juniors.