Appointees named to new Texas Commission on Next-Generation Assessments and Accountability

Dr. Kim Alexander
Staff Writer

Gov. Greg Abbott, Lt. Gov. Dan Patrick and Speaker Joe Straus named their respective appointees to the newly created Texas Commission on Next-Generation Assessments and Accountability. HB 2804 established the commission to develop and make recommendations for new systems of student assessment and public school accountability no later than Sept. 1, 2016.
Abbott appointed and named Mike Morath of Dallas as presiding officer. Additionally, he appointed Andrew Kim, Theresa Trevino and Quinton Vance. Patrick appointed Kim Alexander, Paul Castro and Michael K. McLendon. Straus appointed Pauline Dow, Maria Hernandez Ferrier and Catherine Susser.
Dr. Kim Alexander of Roscoe is superintendent of Roscoe Collegiate Independent School District. Prior to that, he served in a variety of roles within the school district as high school principal, grant writer and English language arts and kinesiology teacher. Previously, he served as a teacher in Sweetwater Independent School District and Highland Independent School District. In addition to his career in education, Alexander is a self-employed production agriculturalist that manages crops and livestock production. He is a member of Texas Association of School Administrators, Texas Association of Professional Educators, American Association of School Administrators, American Cotton Growers Association, Red Angus Association of America and Realtors’ Land Institute. Alexander earned his bachelor’s degree in education from Angelo State University, master’s degree in educational administration from Abilene Christian University and doctorate degree in agricultural education through a joint program with Texas Tech University and Texas A&M University.