Basye named Preceptor of the Year

Ted Basye, owner and pharmacist at The Medicine Place in Sweetwater, has been named “Preceptor of the Year” for 2012 by the students at the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center School of Pharmacy in Abilene. Mr. Basye has been working with students from the school since 2010. As part of their education requirements at Texas Tech, students pursuing a Doctorate of Pharmacy degree must complete a six-week long clerkship in a rural community setting. To date, 20 students have spent time working and learning with Mr. Basye at his store; 10 of them now practicing pharmacists serving the west Texas community. Texas Tech is honored to be able to recognize Mr. Basye for his outstanding work with our students.Presenting the award to Mr. Basye were: Dr. Quentin Smith, Dean of the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center School of Pharmacy; Debra Notturno-Strong, Regional Dean for the Abilene Campus; and Randi King, Assistant Director for the Office of Experiential Programs.  Currently completing a clerkship with Mr. Basye is fourth year student, Muriel Garza.