Blackwell wins district again

Ron Howell
Sports Editor

This time, it was a whole lot easier for the Blackwell football team to wrap up the No. 1 seed in its district and secure an outright championship by winning its final regular season game.
Its 48-2 win in Blackwell over Loraine on Thursday was much more dominant than a nail-biting one-point win over Highland last season when the Hornets got their first title in 7-1A DII.
Now they are 6-1A, D-II champions after taking less than three quarters to finish off Loraine by the 45-point mercy rule.
And the win also means that for the second straight year, Blackwell will be 10-0 as the team heads into the state playoffs next week to face the District 5-1A, DII runnerup — either Buena Vista or Sierra Blanca — in the bi-district round.
Loraine (2-1) must settle for the No. 2 seed and will face Grandfalls-Royalty in its bi-district playoff.
Blackwell allowed a safety to Loraine before cranking up its offense to run off 48 unanswered points, going ahead to stay on Brandon Brinkman’s 34-yard scoring run at the 3:36 mark of the first period. The Hornets led 34-2 at the half and ended the game in the third on Brinkman’s 23-yard scoring run with 7:38 left and two-point kick by Junior Guia.
“The two points are on me,” said Blackwell head coach Clint Lowry of the early deficit, which came after Blackwell had stopped Loraine’s opening possession inside Blackwell’s 5. “Our defense bent, but we didn’t break.”
Asked if winning a second district championship was as satisfying as the first, he said, “I believe so. Anytime we beat Loraine it’s satisfying. I’m very pleased.”
Brinkman also scored on a 13-yard run and threw to Cameron Coldiron for another TD, accounting for 246 total yards. Michael Lowry, Clint’s son, threw a 25-yard TD pass to Peyton Hinckley and Joe Sanchez had two TD runs. Blackwell had four interceptions, two by Guia and one apiece by Coldiron and Sanchez, on defense.

Pictured: Blackwell players and coach Clint Lowry celebrate after beating Loraine 48-2 to win the District 6-1A DII title.
Photo by Kevin Wright