Chamber Recognizes Outstanding Citizens at Banquet

Lead Writer

Lead Writer

The Nolan County Coliseum was filled with members of the community and local businesses as they came together in celebration of the 54th annual Chamber of Commerce Banquet that was held Monday night.
The banquet opened with Chamber Executive Director, Karen Hunt, giving a warm welcome to all guests, followed by the introduction of the Future Sweetwater candidates. This year there will be 19 Sweetwater High School Sophomores participating in Future Sweetwater, the largest class they have ever had. Ryan Strebeck then lead the invocation.
Outgoing Chamber President Jimmie Bender introduced a variety of special guests who were in attendance at the banquet. She then spoke of her time as Chamber President, citing numerous organizations and businesses that the Chamber helped in the past year as well as her personal experience in serving, before introducing the new Chamber President, Ricky Thompson.
Mr. Thompson offered his gratitude to several people before laying out his plans and expectations while serving in his presidential role for the year. Ken Becker, SEED/MDD Executive Director, gave an overview of SEED taking on a new task of MDD for the year, as well as a review of what they have done for the economic development in Sweetwater. Ray Cornutt, Sweetwater Jaycees President, also gave a brief overview of the local program.
The evening’s highlight, however, was the four awards presented for this year: Outstanding Young Citizen, Outstanding Female Citizen, Outstanding Male Citizen and Business of the Year.
*See more in print or online edition.