Clark is Ironman honoree; McCoy on all-district team for 4th year

Ron Howell
Sports Editor

Kobe Clark of Sweetwater won a superlative award on the 2017 District 2-4A, Division II football team released this week.
Clark — a standout wide receiver and defensive back plus a threat on special teams — was the Ironman representative for the Mustangs. Sweetwater had six players on the 2-4A, D-II first team, including Kiante McCoy, who for the fourth straight year was named to the first team at linebacker.
Also making the first team were Chris Thompson at quarterback, Andrew Melendez at wide receiver, Mason Maxwell at linebacker and Isak Alvarez and Ky Hoover at defensive back.
McCoy was also named to the second team at punter. The other Mustangs on the second team were Daniel Avila at running back, Tristan Longoria at wide receiver, Zach Winslett on the offensive line and Kurt Wetsel at defensive back.
The Mustangs had four offensive linemen as well as three defensive linemen earn all-District 2-4A, D-II honorable mention. The offensive linemen were Max Rodriguez, Jeremiah Barrera, Jake Burton and Justin Castereno, while the defensive linemen were Kolt Halstead, Justin Johnson and Logan King.
Clark, Thompson and Alvarez are three-time all-district honorees. All three are seniors as are McCoy, Melendez, Maxwell, Hoover, Avila, Longoria, Winslett, Wetsel, Barrera, Burton, Halstead and Johnson. Rodriguez, Castereno and King are juniors.