County service awards presented

Six county employees were honored with service awards during the Nolan County Commissioners' meeting on Monday morning. In attendance to receive their award were four of the recipients, which included David Brazelton, who has served as the Precinct 1 foreman for 20 years and Bridger Anglin, who has spent the past 10 years as the Court Collections office administrator.Also commended for their five years of service to the county were Elizabeth Vera and Annelle Hill for serving as the Extension Office secretary and a Sheriff's Office jailer, respectively.And although not in attendance at the meeting, additional recognition was given to Lucile Taylor, who has been a Sheriff's Office jailer for five years and Stacy Villanueva, who has served as the Sheriff's Office booking dispatcher for the past five years.Also during the meeting, two re-appointments were approved for the Sweetwater Municipal Auditorium board of directors, as Jan Smith and Leah Andrews will continue to serve in this capacity.The County/City Pioneer Museum made appointments to their board as well, with four citizens joining the group. The new members are Paul Nash, Mike Fernandez, Dianne Trent and Peggy Elliott.Approval was given for a resolution to renew the Indigent Defense Grant Program and the minutes from the Dec. 26, 2012 and Jan. 2, 2013 meetings were approved as well.Reports were also received from the Nolan County auditor, the county clerk, the government trapper and the county sheriff, tax and welfare offices. In addition, the commissioners acknowledged an order appointing Judy Kasper as the Nolan County Auditor, per District Judge Glen Harrison.And while no action was required, a representative with Davis Kinard and Company presented the audit report for the 2011-2012 fiscal year. A brief recap of the entire report was offered and a clean opinion was noted in the independent auditor's report.