Election Day on Tuesday

It's almost here.Tomorrow--on Tuesday, November 6, droves of people across the city, state and nation will head to their local polling places to vote government officials into office in the general election. Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.On the national front, it seems as if the race for President--between Republican candidate Mitt Romney and President Barack Obama--is a dead heat. Both candidates and their respective running mates, Paul Ryan and Vice President Joe Biden, are making their final pitches leading up to Election Night.Other federal races on the ballot, which have state implications, will be for United States Senator--which has largely been a battle between Tea Party favorite Ted Cruz and Democratic candidate Paul Sadler.In addition, votes will be cast for the United States Representative for District 19, as Republican Randy Neugebauer is on the ticket and will be running against a Libertarian candidate, Richard "Chip" Peterson.Locally, the seat up for grabs is for Nolan County Commissioner in Precinct 1 between Democratic incumbent Terry Willman and the Republican nominee, Jerry Hulcy. The ballot will also include the bond election for the Nolan County Courthouse and county jail facility, which will be split into three propositions. The first proposition is to vote for or against the issuing of general obligation bonds not to exceed $4,020,000 to pay for the construction of improvements, renovating, restoring and equipping of the Nolan County Courthouse.The second proposition is the issuing of general obligation bonds in an amount not to exceed $10,245,000 to pay for the construction and equipping of a new County Jail and acquisition of a site.The final proposition is for the issuance of general obligation bonds not to exceed $1,425,000 to pay for the construction and equipping of new Sheriff’s Offices with the understanding that, should the third proposition pass but the second proposition fail, the County is not obligated to construct the offices.A number of county positions are also unopposed on the ballot, such as Lisa Peterson (D) for county attorney, David Warren (R) for county sheriff, Kathy Bowen (D) for the county's tax assessor-collector, Tommy White (D) for county commissioner for Precinct 3, and Democrat Will Lenoir for constable.And although considered a state race, Republican candidates Glen Harrison and Ann Reed are both unopposed for the 32nd Judicial District's district judge and district attorney, respectively.Additional state races include a spot on the Railroad Commission--along with an expired term; Supreme Court Justices for Place 2, 4 and 6; the Court of Criminal Appeals for Presiding Judge and Judge for Place 7 and 8; District 15 member for the State Board of Education; State Senator for District 28; State Representative for District 71; and Chief Justice and Place 2 Justice (unexpired term) for the 11th Court of Appeals District.As a reminder, Republicans and Democrats will be voting at the same place. In addition, there are now only nine voting precincts. The polling places for the November 6 general election, which will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m., are now as follows: Pct. # 1Broadway Baptist Church710 E. Third St.Sweetwater, Texas79556Pct. # 2Trinity Baptist Church 1506 Santa Fe StreetSweetwater, Texas79556Pct. # 3Lamar Street Baptist Church513 Lamar StreetSweetwater, Texas79556Pct. # 4Evangelical Methodist Church700 LamarSweetwater, Texas79556Pct. # 5Nolan/Divide Community Center1742 FM 126Nolan, Texas79537Pct. # 6Roscoe Community Center100 Bois D’ArcRoscoe, Texas79545Pct. # 7Blackwell School610 North Alamo Ave.Blackwell, Texas79506Pct. # 8Maryneal Community Center210 WalnutMaryneal, Texas79535Pct. # 9Avondale Baptist Church1405 Hoyt StreetSweetwater, Texas79556