Future Sweetwater tours city

The Future Sweetwater class made a stop at the City Commission meeting held Tuesday morning at City Hall as part of their tour of city and county affairs. Future Sweetwater, in its fifth year, is sponsored by the Sweetwater Chamber of Commerce and allows 12 sophomore students from Sweetwater High School to participate in a program that informs and educates them about various aspects of the community over the course of the school year. Students are chosen to participate through a process that includes an application, interview, teacher recommendations and grade point average. Shown are (back row, from left to right) Ashleigh Jimenez, Payton Moore, Alyssa Soles, Mikeilah Foust, Alaina Andrews, Mickenzie Brownlow, Michael Lawrence, Sarah Valdez, Mark Lawrence and Keegan vonAtzigen. They are pictured with (front row, L to R) City Attorney Pete Sheridan, City Manager Eddie Brown, Mayor Greg Wortham and city commissioners Dr. Jerod Peek (Precinct 4) and Larry May (Precinct 1). Not pictured are Future Sweetwater participants Elizabeth Gray and Ethan Whittenburg.Find more photos on Page 1 and 3 of Friday's edition.