Governor Abbott declares state of disaster in Texas counties

Staff Writer

AUSTIN - As severe weather continues across the State of Texas, Governor Abbott today declared a state of disaster in the following Texas Counties: Collin, Dallas, Ellis and Rockwall Counties. Additional counties may be added as the situation develops.
Governor Abbott received a briefing at the Department of Public Safety's State Operations Center this afternoon and held a press conference immediately following.
“Our heartfelt thoughts and prayers go out to those Texans who have been affected by this severe weather,” said Governor Abbott. “Please be assured that Texas is doing everything it can to assist in the challenges our citizens are currently facing. I want to thank the first responders and local officials on the ground and strongly encourage all Texans to heed their warnings in the coming the days.”