Heart luncheon this Friday

The annual Go Red for Women luncheon will be held on Friday, Feb. 3, 2012 at the Sweetwater TSTC (Texas State Technical College) campus.Tickets for the luncheon are $10 per person. Businesses can sponsor a table for $80, which will include six tickets and promotional benefits with the business's logo at the table.To purchase your ticket, contact Jerrie Gee at Texas National Bank at 235-4997 or 235-2707 (home). Tickets can also be bought through Janis McDowell at First Financial Trust or Joni Coons at TSTC.This year's keynote speaker is Dr. Samia Benslimane, M.D., a cardiologist with Shannon Health System in San Angelo since August 2011.Her educational background includes earning her medical degree from the University of Texas Health Science Center in San Antonio, and she is board certified in Internal Medicine, Echocardiography and Nuclear Medicine.Dr. Benslimane is primarily stationed at the Shannon Regional Heart Center — a comprehensive, single-stop location where cardiac patients are served with excellent care. With over 20 years experience in a variety of cardiac and vascular surgeries and procedures — such as balloon angioplasties and stents, Shannon Regional Medical Center is now the leading provider of cardiac services in the Concho Valley.Dr. Benslimane also currently sees patients twice a month at the Rolling Plains Rural Health Clinic. The collaborative efforts between the Sweetwater and San Angelo health clinics have grown, offering local patients cardiac studies such as Echocardiography, Stress Testing and Peripheral Vascular Imaging.Dr. Benslimane's interest in heart disease extends to a particular interest of women battling heart disease, serving as a motivation to participate in the local Go Red for Women campaign.The luncheon will also include door prize drawings, and t-shirts can also be purchased to promote the cause. T-shirts cost $10 (S, M, or L) or $12 (XL or XXL) and come in red or black. To place an order for shirts, contact Gee, McDowell, Coons or any other board member: Donnie Ruppert, Julie McLemore or Richard Smola.