Many participate in Run for the WASP

The National WASP WWII Museum hosted a 5K Run and a 1.2 mile walk to celebrate their freedom for Veterans Day 2010 called Run for the WASP.On Saturday, Nov. 13, the National WASP WWII Museum honored the American veterans that have served their country and helped preserve the nation's freedoms. The course for the 5K run was around the Sweetwater Texas State Technical College campus and the walk started at the WASP Museum and ended at the WASP wishing well. The walk and run began and ended at the WASP Museum. "The beautiful day and the hard work of the race chairman, Marvin Keenan, resulted in a successful first annual Run for the WASP in recognition of Veterans Day at the museum," said Sharron Davis, Executive Director of the National WASP WWII Museum.There were 48 entrants and some traveled from Carlsbad, New Mexico; Ft. Worth, Sunrise Beach, Midland and El Paso. The youngest entrant was Courtney Berringer from Sweetwater and the oldest was 71-year-old Mary Kaplan, Ret. USAF. The race was started by a fly-over of a vintage WWII PT-19 airplane, and the route was lined with American flags supplied by Texas State Technical College.  The winners, through third place, were awarded their medals by WASP Mary Vandeventer and USAF Capt. Regina Wall. Capt. Wall is a C-130 pilot stationed at Dyess AFB.During the event, the museum was open to the public and admission was free. There were refreshments and a documentary film of the WASPs, who trained at Avenger Field. Museum staff were also be on hand providing guided tours through the circa 1929 Hangar One. Those attending the event also had the opportunity to meet a Congressional Gold Medal recipient, Mary Vandeventer. After the race, a dance was held at the hangar for a WWII Era Dance. The Sweetwater Municipal Band provided the entertainment and exhibitions by swing dancers were performed.The results from the race are as follows:Female 1 - 14First Place, Courtney Berringer of Sweetwater, Time - 0:30:37, Pace - 9.86 min/mileFemale 30 - 39First Place, Shanna Armstrong of Ft. Worth, Time - 0:21:05, Pace - 6.79 min/mileSecond Place, Jean Kadegis of Abilene, Time - 0:30:52, Pace - 9.94 min/mileThird Place, Alison Bryant of Carlsbad, N.M. Time - 0:41:22, Pace - 13.32 min/mileFemale 40 - 49First Place, Teresa Nauert of Stamford, Time - 0:26:42, Pace - 8.59 min/mileSecond Place, Michelle Steakley of Sweetwater, Time - 0:29:17, Pace - 9.43 min/mileFemale 70 - 99First Place, Mary Kaplan of Sunrise Beach, TX, Time - 0:32:29, Pace - 10.46 min/mileMale 15 - 19First Place, Elliott Marshall of Snyder, Time - 0:17:57, Pace - 5.78 min/mileMale 20 - 29First Place, Brooks Boynton of Roscoe, Time - 0:21:10, Pace - 6.81 min/mileSecond Place, Jared Wall of Abilene, Time - 0:24:28, Pace - 7.88 min/mileMale 40 - 49First Place, Tim Campagna of Midland, Time - 0:24:36, Pace - 7.92 min/mileMale 50 - 59First Place, Paul Patterson of Abilene, Time - 0:20:29, Pace - 6.60 min/mileSecond Place, Tim Chase of Midland, Time - 0:28:51, Pace - 9.29 min/mileThird Place, Tom Hutcherson of Sweetwater, Time - 0:38:04, Pace - 12.25 min/mileMale 60 - 69First Place, Charles Walker of Colorado City, Time - 0:29:24, Pace - 9.47 min/mileSecond Place, Marvin Keenan of Sweetwater, Time - 0:31:26, Pace - 10.12 min/mile