Maxwell is POY; 9 ‘Stangs honored

Ron Howell
Sports Editor

Mason Maxwell has been named Player of the Year, and eight other Sweetwater baseball players have also garnered All-District 5-4A recognition for their out-standing play this season.
Maxwell, a senior, was an all-around standout at third base, shortstop and pitcher. He batted a team-high .488 during the regular season in 25 games and was also the leader or co-leader in hits (40), singles (25), doubles (9), triples (4), home runs (2), on-base percentage (.567), slugging percentage (.768) and OPS (1.335).
As a pitcher, Maxwell was 6-1 and led the team in wins, strikeouts (52) and innings pitched (42).
Infielder Chris Thompson, outfielder Isak Alvarez and pitcher Tony Heredia also made the first team while second team honorees were infielder Kiante McCoy, outfielders Ky Hoover and Kobe Clark, catcher Tyler Warner and utility player Tristan Longoria. All are seniors except for Heredia and Warner, who are sophomores.
Warner batted .388 with 28 RBIs. Thompson hit .349, Clark .313, Alvarez .304, Hoover .301, McCoy .295 and Longoria .289. McCoy played first base and third base while Longoria started at second base and Thompson at shortstop.
Heredia had just a 3-6 record but a team-best 2.73 ERA with 49 strikeouts in 41 innings. Maxwell, McCoy, Thompson, Alvarez, Clark and Hoover also earned all-district honors in 2017.

Mason Maxwell is pictured.