Mustangs win honors

Twelve Sweetwater High School football players have earned all-District 5-3A recognition for their outstanding play this past season.Four were named to the first team — senior utility back Sam Nemir, senior tight end Gabriel Medellin, senior defensive lineman Mateo Gonzales and junior cornerback Nick Nemir, Sam’s younger brother.Sam Nemir received another all-district honor as well as he also made the second team as an outside linebacker. Also on the second team are senior quart-erback Taylor Jones, senior center Dylon Adames, senior offensive lineman Malcolm Jackson, junior outside linebacker Ryan Linebaugh, junior defensive end Luis Gaxiola, junior kicker Tadeo Canon-Masjoan and sophomore wide receiver Kaleb Hoover.This was the first time for any of the players to receive first- or second-team all-district recognition. Sam Nemir led Sweetwater with 88 tackles and was the team’s No. 3 rusher behind Jones and Linebaugh. Jones also threw for 1,073 yards this season, and Hoover (23 catches) and Medellin (21 catches) were his favorite targets. Jones also ran for 572 yards, while Linebaugh had 458 and Sam Nemir 304. Linebaugh had 77 tackes, Gonzales 75, Gaxiola 53, Nick Nemir 47 and Sean Morrow 43. Linebaugh at running back and Morrow at safety received all-district honorable mention. Nick Nemir and Morrow each returned an interception for a TD.Snyder, the district cham-pion, took four of the five top honors as Keenan Ward was named the overall MVP, Josh Sandoval was the de-fensive MVP, Felix Martin-ez was the newcomer of the year and Chad Rogers was the coach of the year. Both Snyder and Brownwood reached the third round of the playoffs.