NCF awards 30 scholarships

Members of the Nolan County Foundation Board are pleased to announce the awarding of thirty $1,000 scholarships to Spring 2011 Nolan County high school graduates. In making the announcement, NCF President Jerry Riggs noted that this year's recipients have increased the total number of awardees to 136 since the Scholarship Golf Classic was started seven years ago.This year's golf classic was named in honor of one of the NCF founders Jere Lawrence. One of Jere's projects for the NCF was assisting Nolan County high school graduates to attend any Texas college or university.Riggs continued that the 2011 Golf Classic, held on April 16 at the Sweetwater Country Club, had 95 registered players. Proceeds from business sponsorships and player registrations helped fund this awarding of scholarships.The 2011 recipients include five each from Blackwell High School, Highland High School and Roscoe High School, with 15 from Sweetwater High School.A reception honoring the 2011 NCF awardees is scheduled for Wednesday, May 18, beginning at 5:15 p.m. at the Ballroom of the Sweetwater Country Club. The public is invited to attend along with friends and family members.Blackwell High School honorees include: Jennifer Allen, Amanda Hoyle, Caleb Magness, Cheyenne Morgan and Jessica Morrow.Highland High School honorees include: Josh Andrews, Katy Fullwood, Puja Parbhoo, Landon Rowlett and Brandt Stevens.Roscoe High School honorees include: Kaitlinn Reed, Caden Smith, Collin Smith, Jacey Tomlin and Lindsey Williams.Sweetwater High School honorees include: Jace Bentle, Tanner Crain, Kaitlen Harrison, Aubra Hendrix, Kaitlyn High, Destiny Johnson, Jodie May, Kris Mayes, Briana Muñoz, Brett Rivera, Leila Rubio, Kevin Sepeda, Jenny Smola, Angela Virgin and Sarah Witt.