NCF awards 32 scholarships to local seniors

Due to excellent support, both in sponsors and in having 83 players participate in the annual Nolan County Foundation Golf Classic for Scholarships held April 20, at the Sweetwater Country Club, the Nolan County Foundation is announcing awards to 32 spring graduates from Blackwell High School, Highland High School, Roscoe High School and Sweetwater High School.According to Homer Taylor, President/Executive Director of the NCF, this year's awardees will bring the total number of $1,000 scholarships awarded by the NCF since the Golf Classic began to 199 Nolan County spring graduates.The class of 2013 includes:• Blackwell High School - Cody Shamblin and BreAnne Richardson;• Highland High School - Lora Stewart and Brenden Huckabee;• Roscoe High School - Faith Boren, Jose Rangel, Torrey Willman, Mirian Solis, Brant Burnett, Stina Tomlin, Kendall Moses, Crystal Luna and Laura Pantoja;• Sweetwater High School - Ashley Kincheloe, Amy Witt, Mackensey Hayes, Rachel Hunt, Addison Cleckler, Madison Meneses, Elise Lawrence, Jerren Villa, Ryan Linebaugh, Kyle Lambert, Suede Shirley, Madeline Montgomery, Blayne Furguson, Nick Nemir, Brandon Howell, Alex Garcia, Donald Baker, Caitlin Owens and Whitney Murff.A public reception is scheduled at the Sweetwater County Club on Wednesday, May 15, beginning at 5:15 p.m. for presentation of the NCF Class of 2013.Joining Taylor in congratulating these seniors are fellow NCF board members Jerry Riggs, Glenn Bennett, J.V. Martin, Bill Johnson, Ronnie Cox, Ronald Williams, Rod Wetsel, Jan Smith, Carolyn Lawrence, Tom Rees, Jr. and John Jay.See photos of the scholarship recipients on Page 3 of today's paper.