NCF donates to fire departments, museum

Members of the Nolan County Foundation Board announced the awarding of six $2,000 grants to each of the Nolan County fire departments and a $10,000 challenge grant to the Pioneer City-County Museum. According to Jerry Riggs, President of the NCF, the awards are a part of a continuing program for the NCF to recognize worthwhile projects that will benefit all of Nolan County.The six fire departments include Blackwell Volunteer Fire Department, Lake Sweetwater Volunteer Fire Department, Maryneal Volunteer Fire Department, Sweetwater Fire Department, Roscoe Volunteer Fire Department and the Nolan Volunteer Fire Department.Riggs continued that the NCF recognized the sizeable efforts expended by each of the fire departments in fighting the several large fires that have recently occurred in Nolan County.Also included in the current round of awards from the NCF was a challenge grant for the Pioneer City-County Museum to be used for repairs needed to the building located at 610 East Third Street in Sweetwater.Members of the NCF are now preparing criteria for future awards cycles as the Foundation continues to grow.Riggs concluded that the current awards are in addition to the thirty $1,000 scholarships that were awarded to Nolan County spring graduates who plan to attend Texas colleges/universities this fall. Since the program was initiated seven years ago, the NCF has awarded $136,000 in scholarships.Serving with Riggs on the NCF Board are J.V. Martin, Ronnie Cox, Rod Wetsel, Bill Johnson, Ronald Williams, Tom Rees, Jr., Caroline Lawrence, Jan Smith, John Jay and Homer Taylor, executive director and advisory director Jacque McCoy.