NCF encourages non-profit organizations to apply for challenge grants

Members of the Nolan County Foundation are encouraging non-profit organizations who need financial assistance in select projects to contact the NCF for challenge grants. According to Jerry Riggs, President of the NCF, the Board recently met to discuss on-going projects and to see out other identified projects that could qualify for funding. Two recent challenge grants of $5,000 each were awarded to the Girl Scouts of America, Camp Boothe Oaks and the SNAP program.Riggs continued that the NCF encourages Nolan County non-profits to identify selected projects and make a written application to the NCF for consideration.These challenge grants are in addition to the on-going Golf Classic annual college scholarships that are awarded each May to any Nolan County high school graduate to attend any Texas college.Members of the NCF in addition to Jerry Riggs are Glenn Bennett, J.V. Martin, Rod Wetsel, Ronald Williams, Ronnie Cox, Bill Johnson, Jan Smith, John Jay, Tom Rees, Jr., Carolyn Lawrence and Homer Taylor. Jacque McCoy, President of the Sweetwater Chamber of Commerce also serve as an advisory member.Requests can be made to any member or by contacting Homer Taylor, Executive Director, at 236-6680.