NCF issues challenge grant to Municipal Auditorium

Members of the Nolan County Foundation Board recently announced a Challenge Grant of $2,000 to the Sweetwater Municipal Auditorium to be used for purchasing a Yamaha digital electric grand piano. Because the piano is digital, it never has to be tuned and it has the capability of several different "voices". The electric piano rivals the sound of a large acoustic grand piano and has the added grand piano feel when played. Also, it is easily moved. Richard Smola, Sweetwater Municipal Auditorium Board president, stated that this challenge grant comes at a good time as the piano will be a new asset for the group to continue to improve this historical site. "Elvis Presley played here twice in 1955," Richard said. "The piano he played on is still here, backstage." Musician, singer and songwriter Kristine Mirelle will bring her unique style and sound to the stage of the Sweetwater Municipal Auditorium on Saturday, Dec. 15, where she will play a variety of genres of music and for a wide demographic. Kristine will be one of the first performers to make use of the new piano.Carla and Scott Morgan, of Morgan Real Estate, are responsible for bringing Kristine Mirelle to the attention of the Sweetwater Municipal Auditorium Board. Dale McCreight, former music store owner and Male Citizen of the Year, is responsible for the choice of the Yamaha digital electric grand piano.According to Homer K. Taylor, NCF President and Executive Director, this latest award is to assist noteworthy projects in Nolan County. Other recent challenge grants include projects for the Girl Scouts and the Senior Nutrition Activities Program (SNAP). Taylor stressed that NCF Board members are encouraging Nolan County non-profits to identify specific needs and projects that could be used to encourage additional contributions from interested citizens.The NCF was founded in 2000 with a stated purpose to promote worthwhile projects for non-profits operating in Nolan County. Founding members include Homer K. Taylor, Jere Lawrence, Glenn Bennett, Ronnie Cox, J.V. Martin, Ronald G. Williams, Rod Wetsel and Bill Johnson. Recently added members include Jan Smith, Carolyn Lawrence, John Jay and Tom Rees, Jr. Jacque McCoy, Sweetwater Chamber of Commerce Executive Vice President serves as an advisory member.Additional information concerning availability of funds for worthwhile projects should be directed to Homer K. Taylor at the NCF office located at 201 Elm Street, or call 325-236-6680, or by contacting any of the NCF Board members.