November election: dates, races and polling places

Tuesday, November 6 is the date for the general election, but a number of important deadlines are also coming up in the meantime.With the final day to register to vote already passing on October 9, 2012, voters can already look ahead to early voting. But prior to the early vote, the automatic tabulating equipment that will be used in the general election will be tested on Friday, October 19. It will be held at 10 a.m. at 100 E. 3rd, Suite 305, to ensure that the votes cast will be accurately counted for all offices and on all measures.Thereafter, the first day of early voting will be Monday, October 22. During the next two weeks, early voting will take place at the County Clerk's office--located at the Nolan County Courthouse (100 East Third), Suite 108--from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday. The last day to vote early will be Friday, November 2. Election Day will then follow that Tuesday, November 6. The polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.This election will impact the local, state and federal levels, with the main focus going toward the election for the next president and vice president of the country. While the Mitt Rommey-Paul Ryan Republican ticket will take on President Barack Obama and Vice President Joe Biden, the Libertarian and Green parties will have candidates as well. For the main county race--in Precinct 1, the ballot will allow for voters to weigh in for the seat of county commissioner between Democratic incumbent Terry Willman and Republican nominee, Jerry Hulcy. Nolan County Precinct 3 will also be on the ballot, with current commissioner Tommy White (D) running unopposed.Also on the ballot will be the bond election for the Nolan County Courthouse and county jail facility. The bond election will be in three propositions; the first proposition is to vote for or against the issuing of general obligation bonds not to exceed $4,020,000 to pay for the construction of improvements, renovating, restoring and equipping of the Nolan County Courthouse.The second proposition is the issuing of general obligation bonds in an amount not to exceed $10,245,000 to pay for the construction and equipping of a new County Jail and acquisition of a site.The final proposition is for the issuance of general obligation bonds not to exceed $1,425,000 to pay for the construction and equipping of new Sheriff’s Offices with the understanding that, should the third proposition pass but the second proposition fail, the County is not obligated to construct the offices.Also, a number of county positions are unopposed on the ballot, such as Lisa Peterson (D) for county attorney, David Warren (R) for county sheriff, Kathy Bowen (D) for the county's tax assessor-collector, and Democrat Will Lenoir for constable.Though considered a state race, Republican candidates Glen Harrison and Ann Reed are both unopposed for the 32nd Judicial District's district judge and district attorney, respectively.Other state races include a spot on the Railroad Commission--along with an expired term; Supreme Court Justices for Place 2, 4 and 6; the Court of Criminal Appeals for Presiding Judge and Judge for Place 7 and 8; District 15 member for the State Board of Education; State Senator for District 28; State Representative for District 71; and Chief Justice and Place 2 Justice (unexpired term) for the 11th Court of Appeals District.The other federal races on the ballot, which have state implications, will be for United States Senator--which has largely been a battle between Tea Party favorite Ted Cruz and Democratic candidate Paul Sadler, and United States Representative for District 19. Republican Randy Neugebauer is on this ticket and will be running against a Libertarian candidate.As a reminder, Republicans and Democrats will be voting at the same place. In addition, there are now only nine voting precincts. The polling places for the November 6 general election are now as follows: Pct. # 1 Broadway Baptist Church 710 E. Third St. Sweetwater, Texas 79556Pct. # 2 Trinity Baptist Church 1506 Santa Fe Street Sweetwater, Texas 79556Pct. # 3 Lamar Street Baptist Church 513 Lamar Street Sweetwater, Texas 79556Pct. # 4 Evangelical Methodist Church 700 Lamar Sweetwater, Texas 79556 Pct. # 5 Nolan/Divide Community Center 1742 FM 126 Nolan, Texas 79537Pct. # 6 Roscoe Community Center 100 Bois D’Arc Roscoe, Texas 79545 Pct. # 7 Blackwell School 610 North Alamo Ave. Blackwell, Texas 79506Pct. # 8 Maryneal Community Center 210 Walnut Maryneal, Texas 79535Pct. # 9 Avondale Baptist Church 1405 Hoyt Street Sweetwater, Texas 79556