Reappointments approved at city meeting

During Tuesday's meeting of the Sweetwater City Commission, several reappointments were approved.Billy Whisenant and Arthur Maberry will continue to serve as SEED (Sweetwater Enterprise for Economic Development) board directors, after being the sole nominees for the position by the commissioners. Both men had expressed willingness in continuing to serve, and their three-year terms will start on October 1 this year and run through September 30, 2016.Also, Terry Bennett, Gil Cherry and alternate Keith Brock were reappointed to the Board of Adjustments. Their new terms will expire on September 30, 2015.Additionally, Charles Hamlin, Rhea Hendrix and Laila Sheridan were reappointed to the Planning and Zoning Commission. Their current terms expire at the end of this month; their new terms will expire on September 30, 2015 as well.According to City Manager Eddie Brown, all six committee members had been contacted and agreed to continue serving in their roles. He added that they were good members who attended the meetings, in which attendance is important in order to have a quorum.However, following a request from Bill Johnson, approval was given to dissolve the Airport Task Force, which was initiated at the January city meeting. Established to run for six months, the group never formed. But due to the airport FBO contract transfer and the existence of the Airport Zoning Board, the task force became unnecessary.