Resolutions presented at SISD board meeting

Student success was celebrated at Thursday night's meeting of the Sweetwater ISD (Independent School District) Board of Trustees, as resolutions were presented for a variety of achievements.Among the recipients were SMS (Sweetwater Middle School) sixth grader Kara Lehnert, who was honored for attaining the top honor at the 2013 Odessa American Regional Spelling Bee. As a result, Lehnert will take part in the Scripps National Spelling Bee competition held in Washington, D.C. this May. The last time Sweetwater was represented at the national event was when Alex Musgrove competed in 1994. In addition, several SHS (Sweetwater High School) students were recognized, including art students Amber Hernandez and Laura Duclos.The high school sophomore and senior, respectively, are state qualifiers to the state competition of VASE (Visual Arts Scholastic Event). Hernandez will be making her second trip to the contest, after becoming the first SHS freshman to ever take part in the state event last year.Furthermore, SHS band students Crysten Ivy and Chase Scott--both juniors--were honored for qualifying for the UIL (University Scholastic League) Solo and Ensemble state competition, following their First Division ratings in the previous round.Ivy was also commended for becoming a member of the ATSSB (Association of Texas Small School Bands) All-State band. This is her second year to garner all-state band honors.Finally, four SHS students were honored with a resolution for advancing to the international competition of DECA (Distributive Education Clubs of America). The teams of Caroline Brennan/Maddie Jones (sophomores) in Hospitality Services and James Clift/Michael Hazard (juniors) in Sports and Entertainment will represent Sweetwater in Anaheim, California in late April.The four students were also recognized for previously advancing to the state level of DECA competition held in Corpus Christi, along with Mason Andrews, Johnathan Browning, Luther Garcia, Chris Gonzalez, Jenny Medellin, Isaiah Hernandez, Ethan Whittenburg, Jeremy Witt, Rachel Gray, Shawn Campbell, Jay Lomas, Brynn Torrez and Stephen Le.