Roscoe falls short in B-D opener

The host Roscoe boys basketball team is still searching for its first win after falling to Anson, 43-42, on Thursday in the opener of the Blackland-Divide Invi-tational Tournament.Roscoe took a 12-9 lead after one quarter and built its advantage to five (26-21) at halftime. But Anson was within two, 37-35, after three periods and won the fourth quarter 8-5 to pull out a one-point win over the Plowboys (0-5).Jesus Leanos scored 15 points to lead Roscoe, which was to face Rotan at 3:30 p.m. today in a consolation game. Javier Leanos (nine), Anthony Ortegon (seven), Cutter Davila (four), Chase Cathey (three), Kevin Lava-lais (three) and Shelton Toliver (one) also scored for Roscoe. Also on Thursday action, San Angelo TLCA won 54-14 over Rotan and plays Anson at 6:30 p.m. today in a winners bracket semifinal; Ira beat Klondike 62-40; and Trent beat Hawley by a score of 49-38. Ira and Trent will play today’s other winners bracket semifinal at 5 p.m., and Klondike and Hawley were to play in a consolation semifinal at 2 p.m. The winner will face the Roscoe-Rotan winner for the consolation title at 11:30 a.m. Saturday, while the losers will play for sev-enth place at 10 a.m. The third-place game will be at 1 p.m. Saturday, with the title game at 2:30 p.m.Mustangs at home:The unbeaten Sweetwater boys (4-0) will host Bangs at 8 p.m. today while the girls (3-4) will be playing at Roscoe at 5 p.m. in a game not originally on the schedule. The Plowgirls are 6-4.Highland’s teams enter-tain Hamlin today, while the Blackwell girls host Gar-den City in a District 14-A, Division II matchup at 5 p.m. today.JV hoop results:Sweetwater’s JV girls lost to Brownwood’s JV, 23-18, on Tuesday. Bianca Castillo had seven, Kensi Chowning six, Marissa Sanchez three and Payton Moore two. But Roscoe’s JV girls and Highland’s JV boys won — Roscoe 41-21 vs. Aspermont as Magalis Casas scored 22, Bergan Trevino seven, Caty Chavira six, Cha Cha Chavez four and Karina Cisneros two; and Highland 46-27 over Guthrie as Emrick Wilson had 10, Jon Basye eight, Shelby Howard seven, Eli Shelton and Tristan Rawlings six, Zack Cornett four, Bobby Weems three and Dylan Miles two.