S’water has 11 all-district honorees

Ron Howell
Sports Editor

Sweetwater has one first teamer and a pair of second team selections to the 2018 District 1-4A, Division II football team, but a total of 11 Mustangs earned recognition.
Marshall Mills made the first team as a defensive tackle, while Tyler Warner and Daiman Atkins were both second team selections at wide receiver.
Eight Sweetwater players earned all-district honorable mention, four on offense and four on defense. On offense were quarterback Leo Holsey, offensive linemen Max Rodriguez and Justin Castereno and tight end Tony Padilla, while defensive honors went to lineman Logan King, linebackers Alex Gallegos and Cade Needham and defensive back Markus Meneses.
Midland Greenwood, the district champion, collected three of the six superlative awards as Jake Somers was offensive player of the year, Brody Ray was utility player of the year and Trey Cross was offensive newcomer of the year. Cole Daggett of Fort Stockton was the district MVP and Nathan Kendrick of Snyder was defensive player of the year. Bud Navarrette of Monahans was defensive newcomer of the year.