SEED board introduces new member, officers

Dr. Jerod Peek was welcomed as the incoming board member during the meeting of the SEED (Sweetwater Enterprise for Economic Development) Board of Directors, held on Monday morning, October 8, 2012 at the Sweetwater Chamber of Commerce building.Peek is replacing Kyle Lawrence, who also served as board president. The board then approved their new 2012-2013 officers, which will be Arthur Maberry as board president, Billy Whisenant in the role of vice president and Bill Johnson at the position of treasurer.The August 2012 financial statements were also approved, which were reviewed by SEED's executive director Ken Becker. He discussed various payments and sales tax collections, along with the local unemployment numbers--which have been a hot topic on the national front as well.According to the report, Sweetwater saw a 5.6% unemployment rate in August, which fares well in comparison to the state and national numbers of 7% and 8.2%, respectively. The upcoming oil field boom, however, should impact the local numbers.The Sweetwater Business Park was also discussed at the meeting, which unfortunately saw some road damage at the park's entry due to the recent and heavy rainfall. In addition, the board reviewed two bids that were received for grubbing at the local industrial site. After some discussion and consideration, approval was given to accept the bid from Burnett Construction to remove and clean up the business area, which will total around $21,000.Approval was also given to the minutes of the August 27 special-called meeting, as well as the September 10 regular meeting. Furthermore, the payment of accounts payable were additionally approved.Also during the meeting, the board entered a closed, executive session for around 20 minutes in order to discuss real property options. No action, however, was taken following the closed meeting.